Around the World with Blue Stocking

21 October 2012
15 October 2012
12 October 2012
27 September 2012 | Woods Hole, Massachusetts
25 September 2012 | Sandown, NH
13 September 2012
27 August 2012
25 August 2012
23 August 2012
20 August 2012 | Eastern Ohio
17 August 2012
05 August 2012
12 July 2012 | Manila, Utah to Steamboat
09 July 2012 | Manila, Utah
07 July 2012 | Kemmerer, WY

Eastern Colorado and Western Kansas

10 August 2012
Eastern Colorado along this stretch of secondary highway is dry and lonely and grim. The towns are just this side of ghost towns except for those all the way over on the other side. Kansas starts out pretty much the same, but seems right from the start (Tribune is the first town you come to) just a bit more prosperous with landscape that is just a bit more relieved with color and contour. I was in Haswell (at the end of the last post) on Saturday night. Now, on Friday night, I'm about two thirds of the way across Kansas. It has been pleasant riding for the most part and the countryside is getting prettier. Still basically flat of course, but with much more variety of vegetation, crops, wildlife, even some creeks that are not entirely dried up. I've camped in a church, an informal "bicycle oasis" which was like a cyclist's B & B, city parks, even once (when the headwind got the best of me late in the day) basically by the side of the highway. Last night the guy at the bike shop where I bought a new tire in Great Bend told me the fire station a couple of blocks away would let me pitch my tent on their little lawn, and sure enough they did. Most of my campsites have been noisy and subject to car headlights and street lights, but I've tended to sleep pretty well and I'm feeling in top form. Toward the end of the day today I stopped in a funky little fruit shop in a tiny hamlet. I just wish I could have recorded the fragrance of that place. Wonderful. I drank a 16 oz. fresh cider slushy and the nice lady filled my water bottle with well water and ice. Only had about 5 more miles to go, but I was pretty parched. I'm spending tonight at the town or maybe federal park in Buhler, near Nickerson. It has a beautiful pool (free for distance cyclists!) which I enjoyed soon after arrival, a pond, a place to charge my gadgets (using some ingenuity) and a general happy all-American feel. I'll sleep especially well tonight because this place really feels safe. The only little problem is you can't get beer here, which apparently is due to a Mennonite influence in the town. It is my favorite way to rehydrate, I must admit, but there apparently are alternatives. People I meet and talk to along the way continue to be amazingly supportive of cyclists like me and seem, along this TransAmerica Trail, to be proud of their role in helping us along our way.
Comments
Vessel Name: Blue Stocking
Vessel Make/Model: Whitby 42 center cockpit ketch
Hailing Port: Woods Hole, Massachusetts, USA
Crew: Paul
Extra:
Follow along with me as I carry out, carry out a multi-year cruise around the world on my Whitby 42 ketch, Blue Stocking. Look at the earliest posts, dated before October, 06, for a lot more information about the crewmembers, and the planning and preparation. This weblog is designed primarily to [...]

Follow Our Circumnavigation

Who: Paul
Port: Woods Hole, Massachusetts, USA