Around the World with Blue Stocking

21 October 2012
15 October 2012
12 October 2012
27 September 2012 | Woods Hole, Massachusetts
25 September 2012 | Sandown, NH
13 September 2012
27 August 2012
25 August 2012
23 August 2012
20 August 2012 | Eastern Ohio
17 August 2012
05 August 2012
12 July 2012 | Manila, Utah to Steamboat
09 July 2012 | Manila, Utah
07 July 2012 | Kemmerer, WY

Back over the Hudson

12 October 2012
At a McDonalds in Teaneck, NJ for my midmorning break. Rode out of Manhattan this morning over the George Washington Bridge. That was a bit of a challenge because of pedestrian bridges at the entrances on both sides of th bridge itself. They involved steep long stairways. Not too hard with a light road bike, maybe, but tough with a fully laden touring bike. On the western side I actually took most of the gear off the bike and did the portage in two steps. I am heading across suburban NJ (pretty urban really) for a state park tonight, then a Warmshowers host in Princeton tomorrow. I ought to arrive in Princeton early enough to have a look around the campus, which I have never seen.

Yesterday was a free day which I spent riding around Manhattan, which turns out, surprisingly to me, to be a pretty fun biking town. On the way to New York I spent some time with a college friend (and some others who joined us) in Westport.

Riding across Rhode Island and eastern Connecticut involved hills and forests, farms and rivers. I crossed the Connecticut River on a little ferry at the town of Chester. Should I ever, by some mischance, become a billionaire, I will make Chester one of my homes. The more urban segment from New Haven to Manhattan and onward is of course less charming. But it is exciting and challenging and I am really enjoying it.

The weather this week has included some cold mornings and some rain. I definitely feel the pressure to get out of the northeast before the weather is really uncomfortable.

During this leg I enjoyed three Warmshowers stays, one a two-nighter. I cannot overstate my appreciation for the organization and for the individual hosts who have helped me along the way. The site is Warmshowers.org if you want to know more about how it works.
Comments
Vessel Name: Blue Stocking
Vessel Make/Model: Whitby 42 center cockpit ketch
Hailing Port: Woods Hole, Massachusetts, USA
Crew: Paul
Extra:
Follow along with me as I carry out, carry out a multi-year cruise around the world on my Whitby 42 ketch, Blue Stocking. Look at the earliest posts, dated before October, 06, for a lot more information about the crewmembers, and the planning and preparation. This weblog is designed primarily to [...]

Follow Our Circumnavigation

Who: Paul
Port: Woods Hole, Massachusetts, USA