Bob's gap years

Vessel Name: Ben More
15 August 2022 | L’Aber Wrach
02 August 2022 | Port Launay
15 July 2022 | Port Launay
01 July 2022 | Camaret
15 June 2022 | Duarnanez
11 June 2021 | Topsham
18 May 2021 | Still Horta
13 May 2021 | Horta
07 May 2021 | Peter’s Bar
29 April 2021 | PICO
23 April 2021 | HORTA
07 April 2021 | Quinta do Loorde
30 March 2021 | Las Palmas
23 March 2021 | Arguineguin
16 March 2021 | Bar Ambigue (again)
10 March 2021 | Marina Gomera
02 March 2021 | Bar Ambigue
24 February 2021 | Cave Cuba
16 February 2021 | SUNNY COCKPIT
10 February 2021 | CAFE CUBA
Recent Blog Posts
15 August 2022 | L’Aber Wrach

SHIPS THAT PASS

15/08/2022

02 August 2022 | Port Launay

PICKLED WALNUTS

01/08/2022

15 July 2022 | Port Launay

FOUL EXPERIENCE

15/07/2022

01 July 2022 | Camaret

SUBMARINES

01/07/2022

15 June 2022 | Duarnanez

WHISKY GALORE

15/06/2022

11 June 2021 | Topsham

HOME RUN

11/06/2021

DUCKS

16 March 2021 | Bar Ambigue (again)
Robert Coates | Very nice
15/03/2021

Months ago I explained that La Gomera was the island I wanted to visit most on my travels having been here for only a few hours many years ago before sailing to San Salvador in the Caribbean. I was enchanted by what I learned in that short time. Subsequently I learned that Caroline, who used to be in Dawlish, lived here. Great to have a contact especially as I have now been isolated here for over 4 months. She lives with her son Alejandro in Santiago and has established a great life and has helped me hugely. Ale is fascinated by the Titanic and has the most incredible knowledge of ships of that era.
So - well, for once it’s not me that has caused a drama but Caroline and I have to tell the story, it’s great and easily up to my standards. Caroline was out one night last week with her friend Rose, no doubt just having a bottle or two of wine. We have
Probably all done that occasionally. She returned home, well after midnight, with Rose and outside her apartment on the pavement was a DUCK. Ok, first there are no ducks in Gomera (or sheep, or cows etc) this must have been an escaped pet. Was a Muscovy duck and they are big and more the size of a goose (yum yum). Thinking like any sober people would they thought of catching it by throwing their coats over it, stuffing it in a cat box and phoning the Guardia Civil for help. At this stage Ale was advising from his balcony (best place to be ). Not so easy. The thing just kept quacking about in a huff but going nowhere. So Caroline ‘phones the G.C reporting a pato (Spanish for duck) in the street. Good old plod asked if there was a woman giving birth in the road. (childbirth in Spanish is parto. Sounds the same as duck when pissed!). Caroline could not persuade plod there was a duck rather than a childbirth in the street. After much skepticism from plod he radioed the local patrol to drop by and just hung up. It never arrived, Caroline went to bed and ducky eventually waddled off up the road.

My week’s been calm in comparison. The wind generator is up and running. I’ve had zero reply from the British embassy and Consulate in Portugal. Very disappointing. The best help has come from a firm of lawyers in Madeira, so far with no charge. I will be leaving Gomera during the next week for Tenerife with 3 others then continuing with Maria I to G Canaria aiming to get out of Spanish territorial waters by the 8th April when the Canaries time limit on the boat expires saving me having to go to the police for an extension request (not a quick process). The residencia lady, very efficient, wished me luck !
I won a pizza making competition (I was the judge, but fair), had a great lunch with several friends including Caroline and a friend of hers. Tomorrow I’m returning my Red Cross jacket and saying goodbye to the amazing and friendly staff there. Will be spending most of the time getting the boat ready for the ocean, including an underwater check of anodes, hull state, etc and transforming the boat from shore based to sea based mode, including restowing all gear. Sad thought leaving but great to look forward to some good sailing. The L Gomera chess Grand Masters championship final has not been decided yet but hope to complete by the end of the week.

Spirits seem to be better back home and hope blossoms with each day. Stay sensible ! stay safe. I look forward so much to returning and seeing everyone (in whatever form that is)

The picture today is of Caroline, Ale and Rose in Santiago where I spent a day this week.
Robert
Comments

About & Links