Bourdons Gallivant

29 July 2012
25 June 2012 | Honolulu
23 June 2012 | Honolulu, Hawaii
21 June 2012 | Honolulu!!!
21 June 2012
21 June 2012 | Off Oahu!!
20 June 2012
20 June 2012
19 June 2012
18 June 2012
16 June 2012
16 June 2012
15 June 2012
15 June 2012 | 25 01.139'N:-145.021843 (1130)
14 June 2012
14 June 2012 | (from Honolulu)
14 June 2012

Dads hat.

19 June 2012
Capt John
Happy to report that last night, nothing broke, came undone, jibbed off-course, or anything! Justin and I actually slept well, and felt much better this morning than yesterday morning. Course about 215-degrees, 5 knots.

---------------------------------

A person has a good deal of time to think and ponder out here. Why do such a silly thing?.....sail a small boat to Hawaii?....... Why take an 81 year old man? Why indeed.....
Back in the mid 70's I think it was, a man, a young man named John Neal, took his 27' sailboat from Seattle and sailed it to Hawaii, then south to many of the islands of the South Pacific, back to Hawaii them home to Seattle again. He kept a log and transposed it into a book. "The Log of The Mahina" I remember Dad reading it way back then. He'd go on about it, suggesting that I read it. I wasn't a big reader in my younger years, my motorcycle was my passion and thrill of that time not reading. I remember him saying what a grand adventure that would be.
Some 40 ish (give or take) years later I buy a sailboat. Sometime, I think I was 12 ish we were in Hawaii. the best babysitter in the world for little Johnny was a Hobie Cat. It was a blast and the only consequence was a bad sunburn. I always thought that sailing was fun just never pursued in in adult life. It gets........busy.
Back to the present. I buy this little daysailor and have a ball, going out after work and weekends developing skills. Which is to say I tried stuff. If it didn't work well or didn't work at all then I'd try something different untill I had had enough "AH HA" moments to get her to go.
It was during that time that Dad mentioned the book from 40 years ago. He still had it, packing it up every time he moved. He lent it to me and I read it. A 27' sailboat, no head just a port a potty, no chart plotter (they didn't exist back then) no SAT phone. Wow. That was so "out there" could I pull off such a feat? In an earlier post I talked about all that so now I will get back to the intent of this one.
After Dad and I made the commitment to each other to do this trip, the serious planning began to kick in. What if this, what if that. We were at the Seattle boat show and came across the US Coast Guard booth. there were a couple of jovial men in uniform there saying hello to all the passers by and such. we walked up and introduced ourselves and proceeded to tell them of our upcoming voyage. All was pleasant and cordial like "SURE YOU ARE" until I posed them with what I thought to be a very pertinent, real question. "Either one of us are old enough to have a heart attack or what not and drop dead between here and there. What do we do if that happens?" All smiles with the jocular overtones vanished. They looked somber if not horrified with a "dude.....this is way above our pay grade question." Sir, you need to speak with this man over here. They introduced us to a man with strips and bars on his sleeve and plenty of ornament on the bill of his hat. he took us quite seriously. He asked me questions and with every answer came a "good" or "very good" response. I say all this to bring up that Dad and I did talk about worst case scenarios and there on down to paper cuts. We both went into this with eyes open, a clear understanding and a desire to live out lives to the fullest.
When he sat back down after looking at the sunset, something was wrong. When it was apparent what, my first thoughts were getting him squared away, get some advice to make sure I was right, them blame myself. What was wrong with me that I would drag an old man out here?
The story is already told about the rescue. The decision to make the call was right, prudent and best for him. Yet I wrestle with it all still. It was best for Dad, he would get better care than I could possibly give him on Gallivant, or was it best for me........struggle, guilt. Ten days, maybe more taking care of a person that just suffered a stroke? on a small boat? There comes a moment when you realize the best thing is just the best thing. What happened was the best thing. For both Dad and myself. Not a win win Polly anna positive thinking bull shit type of thing. Just the best that could be done with the cards that had been dealt.
I have no regrets taking Dad on this adventure. I don't believe he does either. He wanted it as much as I, and for a lifetime longer.He got himself completely checked out with his doctor and was as good to go and in better shape than most his age, yet there is a twinge of guilt that it happened to him on my watch as it were.
He set out to sail to Hawaii like John Neal did. We did it together. he just got there on a different vessel, none the less he made it. His courage and inner strength an inspiration to us all, especially the crew of the Horizon Reliance. The Captain remarking that he is a real fighter, and in that a real inspiration to all of his crew. I get asked for an update almost daily.
All around Gallivant dad is here. His glasses, some clothes, and his sailing hat. I wear that hat now. A tribute, my way of us finishing this together.
-------------------------------------------
(Jenni's update: Dad/Bob/Grandpa has been making remarkable progress! He moved from Queens Medical Center (where the Neurology/Stroke Unit provided him such amazing and compassionate care) to an acute rehabilitative facility where he will receive more pointed and purposeful restorative care. Bob is, as the RELIANCE crew described, a fighter, and is working hard to return to normalcy. Continued prayers appreciated!)
Comments
Vessel Name: Gallivant
Vessel Make/Model: Alajuela 33
Hailing Port: Olympia, WA
Crew: John & Jenni Bourdon
About: Crew list for the Hawaii crossing: John (the Captain) Bourdon -- Bob (Dad) Bourdon -- Justin (son) Bourdon -- Case (aka: little brother) Webb (and Jenni will join the crew from Maui to Oahu)

Who: John & Jenni Bourdon
Port: Olympia, WA