Brilliant Seas Adventures

22 September 2013 | Forked River, NJ
21 September 2013 | Forked River, NJ
20 September 2013 | Atlantic City, NJ
19 September 2013 | Cape May, NJ
18 September 2013 | Ocean City, MD
15 September 2013
08 January 2013 | Forked River, NJ

And we're off!

15 September 2013
Markus Alt
We left the slip at Urbana, VA and headed down the Rappahanock River. We chose to sail the outside instead of going up the Chesapeake for better time. It was a beautiful day and the wind was blowing about 5-7 knots from the east so we hauled up the main, rolled out the big 155% genoa and began to learn my new boat. She handled really well and was fast with her new bottom effortlessly slicing through the water. It took about 8 hours to reach the Cape Charles Bridge and we decided to sail all night as we had a full moon to light up the night. I was having so much fun wandering around my new boat just checking stuff out and adjusting stuff.

The winds that night were blowing around 10 knots and was coming from the south. We set the sails wing on wing and Joe said that we are on the "Nantucket sleigh ride"! The seas were three to four feet and was pretty comfortable as I took watch for the night while Joe went down below to sleep. For navigation there is a Standard Horizon 180 gps plotter and I also had Navionics set up on my tablet.

Midnight and a bright full moon, so cool! The winds were picking up to around 15 knots and the seas building to 5 maybe 6 feet, still pretty comfortable and not capping. Woke Joe up at about 7am and he took over for the morning shift. I was so tired after being up for 24 hours straight...zzzzz.

When I woke up at noon I made some coffee in my new french press. They really do make great java! I gave Joe a cup and I came out to check things out. The wind had shifted to the west about 5 knots and Joe had her on a nice starboard tack as we cruised up the coast towards Ocean City, MD where we planned to go in for fuel and some rest. It was pretty slow going all day and we decided to go another night under sail. The forecast was showing a system of high winds for Wednesday but should make Ocean City by Tuesday afternoon.

3am Tuesday....I went down below to grab a gatorade and heard the boom com around as it did an unintentional gybe. I ran up to check things out and the mainsail had ripped in half about two thirds the way up right on the seam. Crap! Things were a mess and I decided to take down the main, roll in the jib and motor the rest of the night. About an hour of motoring and the engine quits...out of fuel. Crap! The winds were blowing about 5 so I let out the jib then poured in the spare 5 gallons of fuel in. She ran for about 15 minutes and quit. Crap! I knew the line was clogged but the seas were rough and decided that it would be better to fix it at the dock.

Daylight Tuesday morning and looking at my track it appeared we only moved about thirty miles all night. The wind was still pretty light but we were making way, barely. Around four o'clock we were about ten miles from Ocean City and the winds picked up over 20 knots and coming from the north. I called sea tow to bring out 20 gallons of fuel in hopes of getting her running but she wouldn't go. Crap! We were running out of daylight so I just had them tow me in, we were tired and the conditions were pretty rough. It was a good choice and within the hour we were safely in a slip in OC.



Comments
Vessel Name: Brilliant Sea
Vessel Make/Model: Islander 32 MII
Hailing Port: Forked River, NJ
Crew: Markus Alt
About: I'm single!
Extra: I'm still single...hint hint hint!

Brilliant Seas Adventures

Who: Markus Alt
Port: Forked River, NJ