Brilliant Seas Adventures

22 September 2013 | Forked River, NJ
21 September 2013 | Forked River, NJ
20 September 2013 | Atlantic City, NJ
19 September 2013 | Cape May, NJ
18 September 2013 | Ocean City, MD
15 September 2013
08 January 2013 | Forked River, NJ

Waiting out a big blow

18 September 2013 | Ocean City, MD
Markus Alt
Had a good nights sleep and woke up to an expected bad weather day. Small craft advisory and was blowing over 40 knots. Wasn't too bad at the slip so I began working on the fuel problem.

I started moving everything out of the port lazarette so I could reach the top of the fuel tank. I suspected that the ball check valve was clogged up and indeed it was. I cleaned it out and put it all back together then began the process of removing air from the lines. It took a few rounds of bleeding until I finally had fuel at the injectors then I ran the fuel through the recirc filter for about an hour. I'm going to have to clean the tank when I have a chance so this won't happen again.

Joe wasn't feeling to good and called our friend Doc to come and get him. I was sad to see him go and I now have to single hand sail the rest of the way. I feel pretty good about doing it but it would be better with crew.

I took the mainsail completely off and stored in a pile on the deck. It's still in pretty good shape and is repairable but I am going to order a new sail from North Sails as soon as I get to Forked River. Hopefully I can leave in the morning and get to Cape May!
Comments
Vessel Name: Brilliant Sea
Vessel Make/Model: Islander 32 MII
Hailing Port: Forked River, NJ
Crew: Markus Alt
About: I'm single!
Extra: I'm still single...hint hint hint!

Brilliant Seas Adventures

Who: Markus Alt
Port: Forked River, NJ