Cake Walk

Vessel Name: Cake
Vessel Make/Model: Coronado '25
Hailing Port: Pillar Point Harbor
Crew: Jenny
Extra: I bought this 1969 Coronado 25 some years back. I had sailed as a kid, but couldn't sail "Cake" when I bought her. I have since learned a bit and can't wait to go cruising long term.
06 June 2013 | Pillar Point Harbor, Half Moon Bay
Recent Blog Posts
06 June 2013 | Pillar Point Harbor, Half Moon Bay

My son sailing the dinghy 1st time

My son has never been keen on sailing, but the day before yesterday, after breakfast, he announced to me that he was going to set up the dinghy. We often sail it together, but son has never appeared interested in taking it out himself. He didn't even want to control the sail before, he prefers to hold [...]

My son sailing the dinghy 1st time

06 June 2013 | Pillar Point Harbor, Half Moon Bay
overcast, muggy, south wind
My son has never been keen on sailing, but the day before yesterday, after breakfast, he announced to me that he was going to set up the dinghy. We often sail it together, but son has never appeared interested in taking it out himself. He didn't even want to control the sail before, he prefers to hold the tiller or do nothing at all.
But the day before yesterday he set up the dinghy, got in, and took off!
You would think he had been sailing on his own a long time! After 2 hours, I finally got on the windsurf board and joined him on the water. One of the harbormasters I know was working on his boat and took some pictures of us and when I stopped into the office later he sent them to my phone. I felt so proud it was like being a new mom all over again.

Comments

About & Links