looking back

12 May 2006 | Key West
10 June 1948 | Lake Erie
26 August 1947 | Ohio River
11 June 1946 | Boston Harbor

in the beginning

10 June 1948 | Lake Erie
If I wanted to explain a fault to an angry captain or gloat at the competition when I won a race, I would tell people I didn't start sailing until I was thirty. Then my Dad gave me this picture he took at Cedar Point when I was four years old. The photo foreshadows the maturity of my time as a sailor. The water is only inches deep and of course I am hard aground--a condition to which I have attained ever since but, hey, that sail is a spinakker. The vessel is a world war II aircraft liferaft with a red triangular sail with two clews and sheets. If anyone doubts it's a serious boat, after he took the picture, Dad sailed away in it and when Mom got us home we found he had sneaked out and bought our first mechanical refrigerator.
I used the photo for my first business card when I got my six-pack. Hence the print content. The email address is still good.
On another day on Lake Erie, Mom,my sister and I went out on an R class boat. As soon as the thing heeled over, I dove below and refused to come out. We left the lake shortly thereafter to live on the banks of the Ohio River and I wouldn't sail again for years.....
Comments
Vessel Name: dream on
Vessel Make/Model: pending dreamboat
Hailing Port: Jack's Bight

Port: Jack's Bight