Circle Sailing

13 June 2008
12 June 2008 | Mylor
09 June 2008
04 June 2008
03 June 2008
02 June 2008
01 June 2008
31 May 2008
28 May 2008
25 May 2008
24 May 2008
21 May 2008
19 May 2008

Gripping Tales from the sea

18 May 2008
I got near to Faial at about 1am yesterday. Faial & Pico are very close & it was not clear where one finished & the other began & as I was going to pass between them it was a relatively important distinctsion. So I wondered aimlessly around until dawn, & then, there they where, one on one side the other on the other! All these islands are volcanic & Pico is dominated by Pico Alta a volanic peak rising to 2351m. I'll try & add a picture (try because I haven't got Teresa's expertise) as it forms the classical concept of a v. cone.
Catsmeow is now snug...well tied up, in the Horta Marina. They allocated me the worst slip in the place. I get jostled by every boat & tide movement, & there are lots of movements, as the slip is next to customs/immigration, the fuel docks & the entrance! I was going to try bribing the dock master for a new consignment, but the comings & goings are so interesting & with a few more lines the movements not too bad, I decided against it. The marina is huge (I swear it's a mile to the "facilities", Which incidently gets locked for siesta & from 10pm - 8am. Gives a new meaning to bladder control), and famous for it's wall paintings done by visiting crew. Usually includes boat name, crew, date & extent of passage. I estimate they occupy several miles of walls (wall being used loosely for although they do cover the harbor walls they also adorn the pavements, trash containers & other flat surfaces). They tell me it ranks 3rd in Europe for the # of annual transient boats, with well over a thousand/yr.
Horta is great ( for a couple of days) but pales in cf. Bermuda. Commerce seems 2nd class & the people somewhat dour & the volcanic ash takes getting used to.
The marina police man tells me his home island of Terceira is much nicer so I might check that out.
Tomorrow I will see if MAYS (Mid Atlantic {& I thought I was nearly there} Yacht Services) can fix the radar dome & supply a new main halyard & then it'll be sailing again. LOL, Mike
Comments
Vessel Name: Catsmeow
Vessel Make/Model: PROUT 38
Hailing Port: Fort Myers Beach

Port: Fort Myers Beach