Solace

Vessel Name: Solace
Vessel Make/Model: Sea Sprite 34
Hailing Port: Norfolk, VA
16 May 2014
30 April 2014
17 March 2014
19 October 2013
29 September 2013
29 September 2013
29 September 2013
24 September 2013
11 September 2013
22 August 2013
22 August 2013
12 August 2013
12 August 2013
05 August 2013
31 July 2013
31 July 2013
31 July 2013
31 July 2013
31 July 2013
Recent Blog Posts
30 April 2014

VENI

VENI....WE CAME

17 March 2014

The Final Story

Well, I am back home and we have been for several weeks. It is almost Thanksgiving. I had trouble bringing myself to write this final episode of my blog about our trip to the Chesapeake Bay. I have attempted to immerse myself back into the real world; a bit of nesting at the house, back to the office [...]

19 October 2013

Deltaville Daze

It is October 18th, and we have really begun to make the trip south in earnest. This morning we are in a little marina in Coinjock, NC, not far after crossing the state line from Virginia. This means that we will not do as much stopping and "lingering" as we have in the past. Unfortunately, I must [...]

29 September 2013

Welcome to Tangier

On September 20th we leave beautiful quiet Reedville to make a trip across the Chesapeake Bay to visit a little island called Tangier. The size of Tangier is quite small, 3 miles by 1 mile. We sail across the bay on this morning and it takes almost 3 hours to get to our destination, but sailing with [...]

29 September 2013

Cemetary on Tangier

One of many on the island with stones dating back hundreds of years.

Almost There!

05 August 2013
June 19, 2013 Day 24

We had arrived at Hampton City Marina early afternoon of the previous day, around 1:00 pm. We fixed ourselves some lunch and then spent some time exploring the town of Hampton, VA. There was a beautiful church which survived the Civil War-St. John’s Church. It is one of the few historic buildings remaining, since the city was burned to the ground to avoid seizure during the war. As we cruised into Hampton earlier, we could see a beautiful stretch of land with beautiful buildings-this was the college campus of Hampton University. I read in my cruising guide that the college was founded in 1868 to advance the education of freed slaves. I regret not making my way over to see the historical landmarks and the museum which are on the campus. Maybe I can do this on our return trip, if we stop at Hampton again. The Virginia Air and Space Center is also located in Hampton. I did not check this out either, since I have very little interest in aeronautics right now. I am into nautical exploration.

Andy and I were both surprised that the little town itself, seemed to be “dead”, with no energy, to speak of. Many office buildings had lease signage, and very few businesses were even open. We did find a little local art gallery which displayed the works of local artisans.

We will actually get a late start today, around 10:30 am. Before we leave, we get some fuel and water. I explore the town a bit more by walking around and reading some of the information on markers and statutes in the town. Again, there is so much history in all of the little towns on the Chesapeake. This morning, I read about Blackbeard, the pirate, and his being in this area.

It is important that we keep the water tanks as full as possible, because water is not always available. We can carry about 50 gallons of water, and we use about 10 gallons each day; doing dishes, cooking and showering, when not at a marina. I have learned to conserve water, doing the dishes and taking a shower. Conserving water becomes very important when you know you will not hit a marina for a while. I have told Andy that my dad would be so proud of me, because I remember it was one of his pet peeves-running too much water to do dishes. Another reminder, that we are a generation of over- consumption, so unlike our parents world, where things were rationed and conserved out of need.

Monitoring the fuel is also important when making longer runs between marinas. Andy keeps two extra tanks of fuel on deck, each holding 5 gallons. He is able to monitor the amount of fuel remaining by using a yardstick and measuring the number of inches in the tank. He is then able to calculate how many more miles we have by doing that. This is important since we do not always purchase fuel at each marina stop.

We head out of the marina into the Hampton River. We find that we have a north wind 15 knots. This allows us to sail with the main sail for a while. It was rough going for a bit with 4 foot seas when we hit the bay, and we tacked in these conditions for about two hours. However, there is cause for celebration and some fanfare, since we actually cross into the waters of the Chesapeake Bay as we leave Hampton Roads. We have reached the bay and know the feeling of “almost there”-and we find ourselves excited about beginning the exploration of the Chesapeake, even with the rough waters ahead.

We pass Thimble Shoal lighthouse at New Point Comfort, and then Wolftrap lighthouse, as we head for Deltaville. We had previously cruised past Old Point Comfort at the Hampton River. Andy tells me that the Comfort Points were both places that mariners could find protection from the seas, if weather was bad. The lighthouses are really neat, and each one looks slightly different. They have been in these waters for years and years, and many of the original lighthouses have been moved or collapsed, and are no longer used.

By early evening, the winds have died, and we continue to motor sail through the bay. We finish our day, after about eight hours of cruising, and it is 6:30-time for rest and relaxation. We anchor in Jackson Creek for the night, to prepare for two more days of the cruise from Jekyll to Annapolis, tomorrow.

Note: I mentioned that I referred to my Chesapeake Cruising Guide. A sweet friend, and fellow experienced cruiser, Diana Prentice, gave me this wonderful book as a gift before I left Jekyll on my cruising adventure. I have spent hours reading the guide, which has become my “go-to” resource when I have questions and want information about locations on the Chesapeake Bay. It has been such fun to read and study the charts, the text and the photos. To date, I still have not read or studied it all-but I know that I will. It is full of information pertinent to our journey. Thank you Diana!
Comments

About & Links