Chiefs Gone Rogue

12 November 2015
12 November 2015
11 October 2015
30 August 2015
31 May 2015 | Great Sale Cay Bahamas
29 May 2015 | Soldier Cay
28 May 2015 | Manjack Cay Abaco
27 May 2015 | Manjack Cay Abaco
27 May 2015 | Manjack Cay Abaco
26 May 2015 | Green Turtle Cay Abaco
24 May 2015 | No Name Cay
23 May 2015 | Treasure Cay Bahamas
22 May 2015
21 May 2015
20 May 2015
19 May 2015
17 May 2015
16 May 2015

Soldier Cay

12 November 2015
Cathy
We have had 2 of the most amazing days. Left Great Harbour Marina after 3 nights waiting to see what Tropical Storm Kate�'s plans were, luckily she brought us nothing. Next stop was Market Fish Cay and Soldier Cay on the east side. Every anchorage from here on out would be new to us. So far everywhere we�'d been before. This was all new territory.

Coming out of the Harbour entrance we were surrounded by the most amazing colors of jewel tone blues. I just sat on the bow awe struck. Even with 50 foot depths you could see the bottom clearly. No winds, so we motored all the way, but it was so beautiful and calm we didn�'t really care. If felt like a leisurely pace with no wind or swell. I put out 3 fishing lines, 2 handlines and 1 pole. Today was going to be my day I had told the customs agent I spoke with at the dock. As we got closer to our anchorage and about to give up I had a barracuda on, pulled in the line threw him back. Next I had a Wahoo, aka Dinner.

We pulled into a stunning anchorage off Solder Cay. Seemed appropriate on Veterans Day to be anchored here. We were the only boat for as far as you could see. We had it all to ourselves. Took the dinghy to the beach and found lots of sea glass and shells.

Having our sundowners while watching a beautiful sunset I see a splash out of the corner of my eye. Dolphins shooting into the air towards us. I stood up calling to them and shouting with joy. The were 2 adults and one very small one chasing their dinner but so close to us I forgot all about the sunset. My heart swelled with joy, I felt so blessed to be here experiencing all of this. My day was complete eating our freshly caught fish and watching a moonless, cloudless sky filled with more stars than I could ever imagine.
Comments
Vessel Name: Sol Searching
Vessel Make/Model: Leopard 42
Hailing Port: Medford, OR
Crew: Ken and Cathy
About: Ken Retired Chief Executive Officer to full time Captain Cathy Retired Chief Financial Officer to full time galley wench, deck hand and destination planner
Extra: Worked in EMS in the Rogue Valley for 30 years, now it's time to follow our dreams out to sea.
Social:
Sol Searching's Photos - Main
Great Sale to Powell Cay
9 Photos
Created 12 June 2014