Chiefs Gone Rogue

12 November 2015
12 November 2015
11 October 2015
30 August 2015
31 May 2015 | Great Sale Cay Bahamas
29 May 2015 | Soldier Cay
28 May 2015 | Manjack Cay Abaco
27 May 2015 | Manjack Cay Abaco
27 May 2015 | Manjack Cay Abaco
26 May 2015 | Green Turtle Cay Abaco
24 May 2015 | No Name Cay
23 May 2015 | Treasure Cay Bahamas
22 May 2015
21 May 2015
20 May 2015
19 May 2015
17 May 2015
16 May 2015

Part 2

12 November 2015
Cathy
The following day we took the dinghy approx. 3 miles down to the south side of the next Cay, Hoffmans Cay. There is a blue hole here, a small hike from the beach. You follow the narrow path through the bush and come out at the edge overlooking it. Straight down on all sides of the water, into a very deep hole that you cannot see the bottom of. We followed the path further down to the edge of the blue hole. We had brought our snorkel masks and although I was a bit apprehensive we both got in. Staying relatively close to the edge because I have to admit it was kind of creepy not being able to see down. I had come this far and by golly I was not going to walk away without bragging rights. Been there, done that and now own the bragging rights.

I practiced my dinghy driving on the way back and stopped between 2 Cays so Ken could try his Spear fishing. Lots of fish but nothing worth spearing. The current was pretty strong and I stayed close by motoring back and forth in the dinghy. We gave up and came back to the anchorage to find another boat had pulled in. A family fof 5 rom Vancouver BC just starting out on a 3 year adventure. They were in their kayaks and swimming around. As we were getting ready to lay in the shade on the trampoline, tired from our already full day, I see the father with his spear held high in the air. Looking though the binoculars I see it�'s a lobster. We had been looking all day for lobster and here they were right in front of us, not on the side we had explored yesterday. Dang, we�'re going in. We immediately find the shelf where the lobsters were hiding and Ken speared one and I swam back to the boat with the lobster on the end of the spear held way up in the air to not attract anything that might want to take it away from me. I had found a big conch also so with the conch in one hand and the spear in the air with the other I finally made it back to the boat. Deposited the lobster and conch and this time jumped in the dinghy and headed back being more prepared. Ken speared 3 more lobsters so 4 lobsters and conch for conch salad we were set. It just doesn�'t get any fresher than that. They were fabulous off the grill dipped in butter. Another magical day and another star filled sky. I am so thankful to be able to be doing this. I know all days won�'t be like this, but the past 2 I will carry with me for a very long time.
Comments
Vessel Name: Sol Searching
Vessel Make/Model: Leopard 42
Hailing Port: Medford, OR
Crew: Ken and Cathy
About: Ken Retired Chief Executive Officer to full time Captain Cathy Retired Chief Financial Officer to full time galley wench, deck hand and destination planner
Extra: Worked in EMS in the Rogue Valley for 30 years, now it's time to follow our dreams out to sea.
Social:
Sol Searching's Photos - Main
Great Sale to Powell Cay
9 Photos
Created 12 June 2014