Christiansailing

Vessel Name: StirrinUpTheWater
Hailing Port: Knoxville
About:
I'm a Christian; I'm a Sailor; What else is there? Actually there's a little more. I'm also a singer/songwriter and currently lead worship at a local church in addition to other solo opportunities. We enjoy traveling to domestic and international destinations and do so as time and budget allows. [...]
20 January 2016 | Dataw, SC
26 September 2015
06 November 2014
10 September 2014
28 August 2014 | Knoxville
28 March 2013
11 March 2013
24 February 2013 | http://christiansailing.com/Blog.html
24 June 2012 | Big South Fork River
Recent Blog Posts
20 January 2016 | Dataw, SC

Dataw

We have lots of favorite places to visit but one of our heartfelt favorites is a little-known place called Dataw. Dataw Island is sandwiched in between Beaufort, SC and Hunting Island. This year’s visit was another wonderful memory created as we enjoyed a Low-Country meal, walked the docks and sat on the porch and relished the beautiful sky during sundown. The journey of life can offer some incredible detours. Dataw Island is definitely on our “keep” list.

26 September 2015

There's So Much More

I've taken a hiatus (again) from writing in lieu of starting a new book, "The Autobiography of George Muller". For those unaware of Muller, he was a preacher in the mid 1800's who established orphanages and Bible schools and funded them only by praying; never asking for money from men. The book is actually his journal entries and are at the very least, remarkable. Makes me ashamed of the few minutes a day (if that) that I pray. A common theme that seems to reoccur to me as I read is there's so much more to our relationship with Christ and this life but we probably only experience a very minimal fraction of such. Sort of like this picture I took while we were dining at Sweet Grass Restaurant on Dataw Island. The sun was setting and no one was stirring much on the docks. I peered eastward toward Morgan island and the cut to the Atlantic which then leads to thousands of other places. However, for now, I'm here as are the boats in this picture and as long as I'm "here" the scenery won't change very much. Now bringing this thought toward prayer and truly seeking to live a life of prayer, as long as my prayer life is as shallow and non-engaging, the scenery for me will not change much. Psalm 66:18 is a good place for us to start.

06 November 2014

Getting this off of my chest

"The Champion is your best friend." This is one of the many lines I'm hearing as I sit in a coffee shop and eavesdrop on some poor schmuck being bombarded by a couple of "20-Somethings" about their business and if he joins their team, "the sky's the limit", "unlimited potential", "lots of resources [...]

24 October 2014

I'll stop complaining now.....hopefully.

This journey for us has been a good one in many respects. One of the most enjoyable portions of my time of transition has been the people Our Heavenly Father has placed in my path. One such person is a guy who left a significant income stream to dedicate himself to international missions. The difference [...]

10 September 2014

Fear

Mark 6:47-52. Over the last few weeks I've spent a considerable amount of time on the subject of fear. I think it's easy to to be overcome by fear as I know plenty of stable, rational people who have expressed their concerns regarding ISIS, income, family, etc.... I'm no stranger to fear as a sailor, [...]

28 August 2014 | Knoxville

Radical?

There's So Much More

26 September 2015
I've taken a hiatus (again) from writing in lieu of starting a new book, "The Autobiography of George Muller". For those unaware of Muller, he was a preacher in the mid 1800's who established orphanages and Bible schools and funded them only by praying; never asking for money from men. The book is actually his journal entries and are at the very least, remarkable. Makes me ashamed of the few minutes a day (if that) that I pray. A common theme that seems to reoccur to me as I read is there's so much more to our relationship with Christ and this life but we probably only experience a very minimal fraction of such. Sort of like this picture I took while we were dining at Sweet Grass Restaurant on Dataw Island. The sun was setting and no one was stirring much on the docks. I peered eastward toward Morgan island and the cut to the Atlantic which then leads to thousands of other places. However, for now, I'm here as are the boats in this picture and as long as I'm "here" the scenery won't change very much. Now bringing this thought toward prayer and truly seeking to live a life of prayer, as long as my prayer life is as shallow and non-engaging, the scenery for me will not change much. Psalm 66:18 is a good place for us to start.
Comments

About & Links