adventures aboard Ciaron

Our Trips around the Ionian sea islands

05 September 2013
05 September 2013
18 August 2013
13 August 2013
11 August 2013
11 August 2013

Vliho home port

13 August 2013
Well the first day, hell of a time just getting there but I am not gonna share because once on board all the argro of the last 14 hours just faded away as we stepped aboard " Ciaron" . We stood stunned, the boat was beautiful the weather was beautiful and so was the view, across the bay and up the hills the water looked inviting, although we were advised probably not the best place for a swim!. John already on board chilling out glass in hand.

Anyhow supplies first on the TO-DO list, food, water and a couple of beers ( Just to help get us accustomed to the heat of course).

Just the other side of the road no more than 50 yards from the boat, a Mini-Market, so off we all trotted.

Not the best stocked, but had the essentials, fresh veg, milk butter etc bottled water and beer, and also the shop keeper.

I have to say that this old guy is def a character, very friendly and pretty good english, but compared to my greek ( at this point I had never heard anyone even speak Greek), very easy to understand although a few words I had to think for a moment, then tried to ply us with the local hooch he called "blondi" least that what it sounded like. he handed us all a plastic cup, and poured a good measure in each, I must admit it was very nice but I decided that as we still unsure if we were going to be seasick for the next two weeks ,I was not going to press our luck and get drunk and sea sick!!. As for John, he and the old fella were already firm friends from previous visits to Vliho and the mini-mart, and John had come prepared with an empty water bottle which the old fella took out to the back to fill, and apparently, very cheap hooch.

The following morning I awoke as early as usual 6am, ( but of course 8am Greek time ), but it may as well been 6am, not a sound from the marina, the road or even the local cockrel! even he didn't make a sound till almost 9:30 I guessed that Greece really is the holiday islands.

I enjoyed my first cup of coffee in silence stunned by the view from the boat.
Comments
Vessel Name: Ciaron
Vessel Make/Model: BRAVARIA 37
Hailing Port: VLIKHO
Crew: Philip Gough and Theresa Butler
About: We are a couple from Basingstoke Hants and untill last year had never been aboard a yacht let alone sail one.!!!
Extra: I must add that all this could only be possible because of my very good mate and proud owner of "Ciaron" Mr John Pettit

we the crew

Who: Philip Gough and Theresa Butler
Port: VLIKHO