Clio's Adventures

Thursday April 10, 2014. An example of red tape

13 April 2014 | Lavrio, Greece
Francis and Chris
To give you home-stayers a bit of a taste of how the authorities work around here, I'll use the simplest of tasks to demonstrate this gem of experience: picking up the transit log we dropped off at the customs when we left last year December.
Here we go: I walked into the customs office with the receipt for the transit log ready and was directed to a man behind a desk. He wasn't very happy to see me, you could tell, and he pointed at another desk an mumbled something along the lines of 'that lady'.
However, there was no lady and when I pointed that out in the most friendly way at my disposal, he pointed at a chair with the command 'wait'. After about half an hour I asked if he knew where the lady was. He got up and left the room for a while to return a couple of minutes later. It was not clear if he had tried to locate the lady in question or had called his mother to inform her what he wanted for his lunch. After another 15 minutes of no-show and some increasingly undeniable signs of growing impatience in the form of tapping, coughing and whistling while studying the ceiling from me, he surrendered. 'I will help you' and he did. He unearthed the requested document within about 47 seconds, just as the lady walked in. So I was dispatched to her. My impression was that she had even less of a grasp of the required administrative rituals than I have and a long and winding dialog with the aforementioned man emanated. Part of the problem seemed that adding 6 months (validity of the transit log) to the current date was not a trivial task for a civil servant class 3 (I guess). But after more dialog it was resolved. With this hurdle out of the way I was given a piece of paper with the instruction 'upstairs, get a number'. After having dealt with Greek admin personnel before, I understood that asking for more information was a waste of time and ultimately a waste of the emotional energy, already needed to finish the task at hand. After aimlessly wandering through the building I found stairs, climbed them and found a clutch of women in conversation (or verbal battle, I couldn't tell). This was daunting, you wouldn't intrude on an ongoing discussion in Greece! But it turned out to be an unfounded fear. The lady behind the (rare) computer screen instantly knew what I needed, found something in het computer, scribbled on my 'Francis was sick yesterday' note that was given to me downstairs, and looked triumphantly at the accomplishment. I was completely flabbergasted as the whole thing had only taken less than a minute and I had already gone into a meditational trance that I now use to survive these admin-task encounters.
Anyway, like a homing pigeon I found my way down to the original lady civil servant and handed her my now validated sick-note. She seemed content with it and stated to unearth my transit log, now buried under about 300 other pieces of paper (did I explain that these department work almost exclusively on paper records?) and she started to discuss the next steps with her colleague. Eventually the rubber stamps came out and I knew I was on the home stretch. Some quite energetic stamping followed. There was hardly any ink on the cushion and I expected to be dismissed without transit log with the message to come back after the Greek economy had sufficiently recovered to afford ink for its civil servants. But I was in luck, after several rubber stampings were performed, and overrun by scribbles and signatures in pen, I was given back what was originally mine: our transit log, our legal portal to Greek waters.

Epilogue: even though my grasp on the Greek language is ashamedly abominable and I need to put in much more effort, I do not believe that having a firmer grasp on the language would make much of a difference. It is the same for the Greeks themselves and we have spent many side-splitting hours with Greek friends recounting their own experiences. Maybe it is the result of Greek's defiance of rules, triggering more rules, which need to be defied (ad infinitum), and as such a essentially Greek situation. Strangely enough, this makes these experiences much easier, even interesting, to me.
At times I feel in Kafka's 'The Trial' and think of what great stories I can tell over dinner next time.
Comments
Vessel Name: Clio
Vessel Make/Model: Bavaria 47 Cruiser
Hailing Port: Brisbane, Australia
Crew: Christine and Francis
About: Happy laid-offs, with Greek and Turkish privileges
Extra: Also have a look at http://sailingclio.org/ Map of our 2016 journey anchorages: http://sailingclio.org/Map.html
Home Page: http://sailingclio.org/index.html
Social:
Clio's Photos - Main
These photos were taken on August 2016 of a cave wall on the Ionian island of Zante.
6 Photos
Created 21 August 2016
10 Photos
Created 1 May 2015
Some photos from Clio's trip from Gocek to Finike and back in October 2014.
27 Photos
Created 15 December 2014
Photos from the excellent anchorage at Gokayya, Turkey
25 Photos
Created 2 November 2014
These photos were taken by Güçlü (Irmak yachting) to show us the progress while we are in Australia. Thanks Güçlü!
24 Photos
Created 9 July 2014
A collection of underwater photographs, mainly of marine life found during our snorkelling expeditions in Turkey.
20 Photos
Created 6 July 2014
Based on photos taken on 20th of June 2014
26 Photos
Created 30 June 2014
Photos of our journey between 12 and 19 June 2014.
39 Photos
Created 29 June 2014
A selection of photos were converted in water paintings to give a cyber-artist's vision of our expedition, just for the fun of it.
32 Photos
Created 28 June 2014
We stayed a couple of days at the Octopus hotel pontoon. Anchored in Bozuk Buku (first use of long flat-rope landline) and Ciftlik Bay, from where we took the bus to Marmaris.
41 Photos
Created 27 June 2014
Photos were taken between28th of May and 5th of June 2014. Places: Yolluca rock, Perilli, Selimiye, Orhaniya and Marmaris
37 Photos
Created 27 June 2014
Photos from the Yiali anchorage, Tilos, Simi in Greece and Datca in Turkey. From 21 May to 27 Mat 2014.
64 Photos
Created 17 June 2014
Photos from Leros, Kalymnos and Kos, three islands in the Dodecanese. We visited them between 10 and 19th of May, 2014.
50 Photos
Created 30 May 2014
Our photos of Nissos Paros, mid of April 2014
27 Photos
Created 8 May 2014
Photos taken during our visit on Amorgos, Greece in the first week of May, 2014.
42 Photos
Created 8 May 2014
Some photos we took on Naxos in late April and early May 2014.
31 Photos
Created 4 May 2014
We visited Thira by ferry on 25 and 26 of April 2014.
28 Photos
Created 28 April 2014
Some snaps from the Easter celebrations in Loutra, Kythnos
20 Photos
Created 23 April 2014
Some photos leaving Lavrio and walking around Loutra, on Kythnos, in April 2014
25 Photos
Created 19 April 2014
16 Photos
Created 13 April 2014
We visited Loutra on the island of Kythnos from November 27 until Decmber 6, 2013 and sat out a week of gales and storms. Lovely people, port and island.
15 Photos
Created 14 December 2013
Trip from Poros to Hydra
12 Photos
Created 3 December 2013
Maiden voyage of Clio, from Alimou marina in Athens to Poros island.
10 Photos
Created 24 November 2013
Photos taken when we were looking for (and found) a boat in the Meds.
16 Photos
Created 2 September 2013