For As Long As It Lasts

11 May 2013 | Kingston
29 April 2013 | Kingston/Toronto
22 April 2013 | Inverary, Ontario
22 April 2013 | Kingston
17 April 2013 | Kingston
12 April 2013 | Kingston
10 April 2013 | Kingston
28 March 2013 | Kingston
23 March 2013 | Kingston
13 March 2013 | Kingston
10 March 2013 | Kingston
28 February 2013 | Kingston
27 February 2013 | Kingston
19 February 2013 | Kingston
14 February 2013 | Kingston
09 February 2013 | Kingston
06 February 2013 | Kingston
05 February 2013 | Kingston
02 February 2013
31 January 2013 | Kingston

Land at Last!!

14 February 2012 | Punta Gorda, Fl
Jennifer - warm and sunny
A Happy Miss B. No more water for a while!!

We broke out of Sarasota last Tuesday an lived on the hook in Pelican Bay area until we tied up here in Punta Gorda yesterday. We will be here until the 21st when we will head to the Charlotte Boat Yard, a short trip over the other side of the bay, & have CK hauled, we will pick up the car the following day for our trip to Syracuse, while the boys are shrink wrapping her .
We dinked to the State Park a few times until the weather took its turn for windy and cold. We had lots of good food so life was not difficult. I finished a lace sock and cast on the second one. When the temperature dropped and Bridget was shaking I was reminded that I must make her a coat for winter in Canada. She has never met a Canadian winter or snow. In my cockiness I cast on a nice 6 ply pink variegated merino thinking I would design it as I go. Five inches into it, Al and I did a "fitting" and we both agreed it was huge. If we owned a 30 pound pot bellied pig it would have been the ticket. In delusional knitterly behaviour I forged ahead doing a series of yo's and k2togs thinking I could use a decorative cord to cinch it around her. After 3 more inches of knitting I deemed it was a bust. I really did not want to frog it and start over. After fondling it and examining my creation from different angles it came to me that its destiny could be a slouchy hat, for a girl toddler. As luck would have it I have two darling toddler great nieces at home in Kingston either would look Vogue in a sassy slouchy. I am relieved to not waste hours of knitting. I will go back to the drawing board for the next weenie coat.

When on the hook our leaf antenna was not very reliable for TV due to swinging around on the anchor. We started to watch Glee season 1 and 2 that was on a hard drive and we are both hooked. The songs are great and they often dance through my head long after the TV is turned off.

We met a Canadian couple during our first week in Pelican Bay, they are finishing the winter down the road here in Fisherman's village and they have a car which they have kindly offered up. We will use it on Thursday to get things we need to close up CK like foil pans, charcoal, a de-humidifier.

Today is valentines and I awoke to coffee in bed and 2 cards. One from Miss B and one from Al. I am bad in the getting cards ahead department, so I told Al I was his card. Here's wishing y'all a great day.
Comments
Vessel Name: Close Knit
Vessel Make/Model: Marine Trader Double Cabin
Hailing Port: Kingston, Ontario
Crew: Al, Jennifer & Bridget.
About: Ex sailboat couple from S/V Ruth. Continuing our trip down south, in a little more comfort (& alot more work!)
Extra:
Alistair and Jennifer are a couple who met in 2007 after Jennifer survived a stroke in early 2006 and lost her husband to cancer the same year. Al had been a life long sailor and after dating several months Al suggested a lifestyle on a boat, cruising. Jennifer had no sailing experience and was [...]

Who: Al, Jennifer & Bridget.
Port: Kingston, Ontario