For As Long As It Lasts

11 May 2013 | Kingston
29 April 2013 | Kingston/Toronto
22 April 2013 | Inverary, Ontario
22 April 2013 | Kingston
17 April 2013 | Kingston
12 April 2013 | Kingston
10 April 2013 | Kingston
28 March 2013 | Kingston
23 March 2013 | Kingston
13 March 2013 | Kingston
10 March 2013 | Kingston
28 February 2013 | Kingston
27 February 2013 | Kingston
19 February 2013 | Kingston
14 February 2013 | Kingston
09 February 2013 | Kingston
06 February 2013 | Kingston
05 February 2013 | Kingston
02 February 2013
31 January 2013 | Kingston

Date Night

14 June 2012 | Kingston, Ontario
Jennifer- sunny and lovely
Date Night

Last night Alistair and I went on a date. We ate at Montanas (rib night) then went to see The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel. It was just what we needed, just the right amount of cuteness with a good life story. Maggie Smith’s best line from the movie resonates in my head. “Oh I don’t plan that far ahead, I don’t even buy green bananas”. I’m not sure why but the movie made me think of our time(s) at Palm Coast Marina. I think because we all referred to it as an “assisted living” marina.

The weather has been nice here. Yesterday had a coolness to it that made me have a pang for the boat. As I walked back up Princess Street I felt the sun on my face and with the breeze on my cheeks, for a moment I stood at an intersection, closed my eyes and in that instant I felt like I was on the boat drifting at anchor. For reasons I can’t explain it was the first time I was really missing life on the water.

Al and I are down to counting sleeps and a winkie, as our friend Mike on Nelleke calls them. Two weeks today, his surgery will be over. It’s a good thing too because Al is now experiencing occasional stabbing pains in his head behind his left eye and has a constant feeling of something being in his eye and it weeps quite a bit. The stabbing pain issue is a new occurrence, which I find worrisome and I monitor.

Al’s youngest daughter Tonia will arrive tomorrow night for Fathers Day weekend. We are looking forward to her visit and the diversion.

Next Tuesday Al will head to Hotel Dieu Hospital for his pre-op appointment and which we are told involves blood work and meeting his anaesthetist. He still has to have the extended MRI with the multiple views that are put into 3D for surgery. Since his surgery could take anywhere from 3-13 hours, I’m trying to find just the right knitting project to keep me entertained. It has to be interesting enough to make it fun but not so complicated that I have to be glued to a pattern. So the search continues.
Comments
Vessel Name: Close Knit
Vessel Make/Model: Marine Trader Double Cabin
Hailing Port: Kingston, Ontario
Crew: Al, Jennifer & Bridget.
About: Ex sailboat couple from S/V Ruth. Continuing our trip down south, in a little more comfort (& alot more work!)
Extra:
Alistair and Jennifer are a couple who met in 2007 after Jennifer survived a stroke in early 2006 and lost her husband to cancer the same year. Al had been a life long sailor and after dating several months Al suggested a lifestyle on a boat, cruising. Jennifer had no sailing experience and was [...]

Who: Al, Jennifer & Bridget.
Port: Kingston, Ontario