For As Long As It Lasts

11 May 2013 | Kingston
29 April 2013 | Kingston/Toronto
22 April 2013 | Inverary, Ontario
22 April 2013 | Kingston
17 April 2013 | Kingston
12 April 2013 | Kingston
10 April 2013 | Kingston
28 March 2013 | Kingston
23 March 2013 | Kingston
13 March 2013 | Kingston
10 March 2013 | Kingston
28 February 2013 | Kingston
27 February 2013 | Kingston
19 February 2013 | Kingston
14 February 2013 | Kingston
09 February 2013 | Kingston
06 February 2013 | Kingston
05 February 2013 | Kingston
02 February 2013
31 January 2013 | Kingston

It Takes a Village....

09 August 2012 | Kingston, Ontario
Jennifer
The last few days have been a struggle and I didn’t know quite how to blog about it. Al has been in a serious funk. He has been feeling pretty hopeless. This morning when I arrived he just really wanted to go back to bed and his whole posture was hung low. I snagged his Communication therapist in the hallway and I told her I wasn’t sure he’d be at his 11 a.m. therapy. We discussed a plan and some strategies and we wheeled him to his first floor therapy. Audrey in her soothing experienced voice lead the conversation in more of a psychologist type role. I added in dialogue where appropriate but for the most part I was in an observation position. Some kind of magic happened over the course of that hour. I can hardly explain it. I am not sure if it was the questions she asked, the seeds she planted or what exactly it was but at the end of that hour he seemed to have some spark back. His eyes were clearer and his head held higher.

I had packed a lunch so I could eat with him and at 1 p.m.we headed to Physiotherapy. I felt proud of him as I watched him work hard at his exercises, but his effort tugged at my heart when he pushed against gravity to struggle to a standing position with assistance. This was done several times. His therapist asked if he was up for the adventure of trying a couple of steps in the parallel bars. He was too pooped and did not wish to try. So that will be another day.

After Physiotherapy we had an hour until Occupational therapy. We went for a faux gin & tonic and to the sun room to watch some Olympics. I stayed to observe Al in OT where he learned and practiced taking weight through his right arm and shoulder. All these small exercises are building blocks and ways to make new pathways for the brain to make his body work. I remembered these exercises well.

As I sit here writing now I am amazed at how this day did a complete turn around. His village of very skilled and enthusiastic therapists totally rock. I think something clicked for him today and perhaps he is making sense that all these little things lead to the greater picture. Of course his therapists continue to remind me, its early yet.
Comments
Vessel Name: Close Knit
Vessel Make/Model: Marine Trader Double Cabin
Hailing Port: Kingston, Ontario
Crew: Al, Jennifer & Bridget.
About: Ex sailboat couple from S/V Ruth. Continuing our trip down south, in a little more comfort (& alot more work!)
Extra:
Alistair and Jennifer are a couple who met in 2007 after Jennifer survived a stroke in early 2006 and lost her husband to cancer the same year. Al had been a life long sailor and after dating several months Al suggested a lifestyle on a boat, cruising. Jennifer had no sailing experience and was [...]

Who: Al, Jennifer & Bridget.
Port: Kingston, Ontario