For As Long As It Lasts

11 May 2013 | Kingston
29 April 2013 | Kingston/Toronto
22 April 2013 | Inverary, Ontario
22 April 2013 | Kingston
17 April 2013 | Kingston
12 April 2013 | Kingston
10 April 2013 | Kingston
28 March 2013 | Kingston
23 March 2013 | Kingston
13 March 2013 | Kingston
10 March 2013 | Kingston
28 February 2013 | Kingston
27 February 2013 | Kingston
19 February 2013 | Kingston
14 February 2013 | Kingston
09 February 2013 | Kingston
06 February 2013 | Kingston
05 February 2013 | Kingston
02 February 2013
31 January 2013 | Kingston

Instead of Flowers

14 September 2012 | Kingston, Ontario
Jennifer
"Instead of Flowers" was going to be, and may still be, the name of a pamphlet I want to produce and make available to family and friends of stroke survivors. I decided I wanted to do this during recovering from my own stroke 6 1/2 years ago. This idea can apply to any illness, not just stroke survivors.

My nature is to "go big or go home". I envision this pamphlet in hospitals and health care waiting rooms across the country.

Often when a family is afflicted with an illness, family and friends feel hopeless and want to help in any way. This help comes in many forms. Although flowers are a beautiful gesture. They just don't last, and with an average arrangement being in the 30 to 50 dollar range, that money can go a long way toward assissted devices for the afflicted individual.

When I was in recovery my sister boldly told everyone and any one who wanted to help to contribute to my kitchen equipment fund. As a result of generosity I came home to many of the assisted devices that I used in the Occupational Therapy kitchen where I learned how to prepare meals as an impaired woman. Through motivation and over time I no longer needed many of these items. Some I still depend on. The items I felt I could live with out I donated back to the hospital with the caveat that they were to be given to another individual who needed them and who may not have the resources I was lucky to have.

Other helpful ideas could be gift certificates to The Home Depot or Lowes for grab bars and supplies needed for minor renovations. Even just asking the afflicted person and family what is needed and getting a group to share the cost of an item is helpful.

So in this vein Al and I want to SHOUT OUT a huge THANK YOU to our extended friends (who feel like family) at Palm Coast Marina who wanted to be part of Al's recovery and who have pooled together to purchase an iPad for Al. We are most greatful for this most generous gift. Al has already been making gains using the departmental iPad in his communication therapy. This will be arriving on our door step with out me having done any leg work which is a big deal. My days are filled playing advocate and filling in communication gaps for Al. So not having to even think about this is a gift.

Thank you to all (you know who you are) who have given me/us gift certs for eateries in our neighborhood, taxi chits, bus passes, rides, prepared dinners, taken laundry and help in various forms. You are all SUPERSTARS.
Comments
Vessel Name: Close Knit
Vessel Make/Model: Marine Trader Double Cabin
Hailing Port: Kingston, Ontario
Crew: Al, Jennifer & Bridget.
About: Ex sailboat couple from S/V Ruth. Continuing our trip down south, in a little more comfort (& alot more work!)
Extra:
Alistair and Jennifer are a couple who met in 2007 after Jennifer survived a stroke in early 2006 and lost her husband to cancer the same year. Al had been a life long sailor and after dating several months Al suggested a lifestyle on a boat, cruising. Jennifer had no sailing experience and was [...]

Who: Al, Jennifer & Bridget.
Port: Kingston, Ontario