For As Long As It Lasts

11 May 2013 | Kingston
29 April 2013 | Kingston/Toronto
22 April 2013 | Inverary, Ontario
22 April 2013 | Kingston
17 April 2013 | Kingston
12 April 2013 | Kingston
10 April 2013 | Kingston
28 March 2013 | Kingston
23 March 2013 | Kingston
13 March 2013 | Kingston
10 March 2013 | Kingston
28 February 2013 | Kingston
27 February 2013 | Kingston
19 February 2013 | Kingston
14 February 2013 | Kingston
09 February 2013 | Kingston
06 February 2013 | Kingston
05 February 2013 | Kingston
02 February 2013
31 January 2013 | Kingston

On Your Mark ......

15 October 2012 | Kingston
On Friday my sister in law took me for a grocery run to our new Farm Boy. I was focused on all the high end veggies and fruit. In my excitement for the good stuff I failed to take stock of the staples. So this morning I talked with Al about how he felt about being left alone for an hour while I walked to Loblaws about a 3 city block walk away. He felt confident about being able to be left alone. After a bathroom run I left him in his chair watching TV with B and with instructions not to answer the phone. We were expecting some calls for appointments and I was concerned the information would be confusing for Al. So me returning calls felt like the most reliable solution.

I left at 10 to 12 and briskly walked to Loblaws. I blazed through the isles like a house on fire. I got everything on my list and then some, I'm spontaneous like that. I stepped back through our apartment door in just under 65 minutes. Al was fine. I'm not sure what surprised me more, the fact I could power shop and walk to and fro in just 65 minutes or the fact that $98.00 worth of groceries fit in the back pack and one small hand held bag.

Al will start his in home physio tomorrow with the woman who worked with me 2 years post stroke. I am hopeful she will have the good results with Al that she had with me. Al is booked for his urodynamic tests this Thursday so hopefully his bladder issues will get sorted out.

Al is down for a nap now so I'm making butter tarts to have with tea.
Comments
Vessel Name: Close Knit
Vessel Make/Model: Marine Trader Double Cabin
Hailing Port: Kingston, Ontario
Crew: Al, Jennifer & Bridget.
About: Ex sailboat couple from S/V Ruth. Continuing our trip down south, in a little more comfort (& alot more work!)
Extra:
Alistair and Jennifer are a couple who met in 2007 after Jennifer survived a stroke in early 2006 and lost her husband to cancer the same year. Al had been a life long sailor and after dating several months Al suggested a lifestyle on a boat, cruising. Jennifer had no sailing experience and was [...]

Who: Al, Jennifer & Bridget.
Port: Kingston, Ontario