Change of Latitude in the Pacific Northwest

Change of Latitude in the Pacific Northwest

Who: Don/Debbie/Katie Baxter/Sarah Leu
Port: Bellingham, WA

To Bellingham and Change of Latitude

07 May 2016 | Squalicum Harbor - Bellingham, WA
Don/Nice

Oh, my! Such an early start to this trip today, a 5 am departure out of Hartford! We planned a 3+ week cruise in the San Juan near Puget Sound and in the Gulf Islands of Canada. Our oldest daughter, Katie, is going to join us for a week in the middle. We are really looking forward to spending great time aboard with her.

We were up at 1:45 in Connecticut to catch flight to Chicago and another flight from Chicago before arrival in Seattle at 9:45 am. Deb and I made it up to Hartford fine and went through check-in without a hitch. We got this. We were upgraded to first class. Then breakfast in the AA lounge and catch our connecting flight to SeaTac and another upgrade (hooray!) with a second breakfast on the flight to Seattle. Living large on this trip. I read the news and then a bit of a book on Hamilton on my iPad before taking a snooze. Just before falling off, I slipped my iPad into the pouch on the seatback near my knees. Landing I woke up and grabbed my jacked and computer case but, alas, not my iPad.

We grabbed our luggage and the shuttle to the Rental Car location. I had booked a free one-way to Bellingham. Usually it is very expensive but I had enough previous rentals that this was a freebee. Hooray, again! Traffic was really heavy on the route to Bellingham; there are two bridge reconstructions taking place. Ugh!

We finally arrived in Bellingham saw our good friends at Northwest Explorations and unloaded our gear aboard good ‘ol Change of Latitude. It was good to be back aboard. What a beaut of a boat!

We zipped over to Sudden Valley and took my sister, Dotie, out to dinner at the Mexican restaurant (El Agave) at the clubhouse. Then it was back to the boat and.....I discovered that my iPad was missing. Oh, X@#$%^! I used my Find my iPhone to locate it. It was at the gate where we arrived at Seatac. I locked it and put a “Call me” message on the screen. I followed an AA online form to register it lost and then, at the end of the process, it informed me that they were not yet connected to SeaTac. Double X@#$%^! Well to bed and thinking about the solution. It was late and we were tired.
Comments
Vessel Name: Change of Latitude
Vessel Make/Model: Grand Banks CL 42
Hailing Port: Bellingham, WA
Crew: Don/Debbie/Katie Baxter/Sarah Leu
About: We live on the East Coast but enjoy wilderness cruising in the Pacific Northwest.
Extra: We enjoy crabbing, shrimping, fishing, and clamming. Some of us are crazy enough to swim in Northwest waters during the summer.

Change of Latitude in the Pacific Northwest

Who: Don/Debbie/Katie Baxter/Sarah Leu
Port: Bellingham, WA