Jonathan Crinion Ocean Racing

Jonathan Crinion and one of the world's leading Naval Architecture firms; that of Owen Clark Design LLP have together designed and developed a superb racing machine to the new Class 40 Rule of 2004.

Vessel Name: Friends of the Earth
Vessel Make/Model: Owen Clark Design Open 40
Crew: Jonathan Crinion
20 October 2006 | Pendennis Marina, Falmouth, UK
18 October 2006 | 48,5.57N , 9,13.81W
17 October 2006 | 45,29.51N , 11,19.44W
17 October 2006 | 42,44.86N , 13,40.48W
16 October 2006 | 42,33.68N , 14,3.52W
16 October 2006
13 October 2006
13 October 2006
07 September 2006
14 August 2006
10 August 2006
10 August 2006
07 August 2006
02 August 2006
01 August 2006
24 July 2006
Recent Blog Posts
20 October 2006 | Pendennis Marina, Falmouth, UK

Falmouth

Well that's it, Cape Town to Falmouth. This last bit of the voyage from Madeira has seen some of the worst weather ever - non stop. My wind strategy worked well to go up the centre of the English channel and ships criss crossed all night. The weather grib files have been hopelessly wrong for the past [...]

18 October 2006 | 48,5.57N , 9,13.81W

Knock down

The ocean can be brutal. More to the point the weather can be. Yesterday was sunny but with large swells and I had been hitting 17 knots reaching on and off for most of the afternoon. Speeding off faster and faster, the feeling is exhilarating. With a reef in the main and the Genoa up I was under canvassed [...]

17 October 2006 | 45,29.51N , 11,19.44W

Approaching the channel

All along I've used one nautical chart for the Southern Hemisphere and St Helena and another for the Northern Hemisphere plus one for Madeira. I'm making fast progress at the moment and should be on the 10 degree West Longitude line shortly where I will switch to a detailed chart to take me into La [...]

17 October 2006 | 42,44.86N , 13,40.48W

Contemplation

I'm starting to understand why Bernard Moitessier made the turn and headed towards the Pacific. He was wondering what he would arrive back to if he kept going on to the UK. It's so vast out here and so far away from everything. I have a 360 degree view of the universe. I'm completely self sufficient [...]

16 October 2006 | 42,33.68N , 14,3.52W

Storm Warning

Wisdom says go wide of the Bay of Biscay but my weather files are showing a huge area of no wind to the West of me which forms the centre of a large and very vicious looking low heading this way.

Mast Saved

14 August 2006
29,25.42N , 18,50.95W
Position: 29,25.42N , 18,50.95W
Speed: 5 knots, Course: 61 deg.
UTC Time: 12. August 2006 16:18
Solar panels producing 4.5 amps


On a boat you listen for noises. A flapping sail needs attention, something clinking needs tightening. After a while you learn all the sounds and can sleep well, but last night I could hear strange rattling above my bunk.

I looked out the window to see the base of the inner shroud (holds up the mast) flapping loosely behind the sail. Looking up the mast I could see that all the inner shrouds were quite loose which means that the whole mast was unsupported and could fall over or break if we got a sudden wind shift.

We quickly dropped all the sails to take the pressure off the mast and that's when we discovered that we were low on fuel as well. La Palma was visible to our East under a full moon, but the idea of pulling into a port was scuppered when we realised we had no detailed charts of the Canary Islands.

A glance at the sailing instructions for La Palma warned us to stay off shore 1.5 miles to avoid a rocky coast and the only port also warned of unmarked rocks around the entrance. The ideas of finding refuge in a port was not an option in the darkness at 3 in the morning.

With not enough fuel to get us to Madeira, which is still three days away, the only option was to motor slowly with what little fuel we had left, to stop the boat from crashing in the waves. In the morning it was time to go up the mast and tighten the rig. Its hard enough going up a very tall mast at dock side but in a swell the mast can swing from side to side a few meters and it is amplified as you go higher.

With my climbing harness on, wrenches tied on and a strop to lash around a shroud to stop me from flying off into space, I headed up. The lower spreaders were not so bad and I managed to tighten the inner shrouds as I flailed around. The problem being you need one hand to hold the small wrench and the other hand to hold the big wrench which left my feet to hang on with.

The top spreaders were almost impossible as the boat was swaying from side to side and I was being tossed around like a bat-a-ball. I could barely hold on, let alone hold the two wrenches to tighten the turnbuckle.

I had just looped the safety strop around the spreader when the boat lurched forward, I swung out and then the boat lurched back again and the spreader hit me hard in the lower rib. A bit like someone hitting you with a base ball bat. Every breath felt like a knife in my rib.

Back on deck the rig looked solid and we hoisted the main sail and then the genoa. It looked good, so we're back in business. I'm taking it easy today, I've had a cracked rib before, so I know what it feels like, and this is what it felt like. It's a bit hard grinding winches but I'll be ok.

It's a beautiful day, flat water, only ten knots of wind but at a constant speed and the boat is quietly and effortlessly skimming along. We've lost a whole night of sailing in the process but have averted a potential major disaster. We have a spare can of fuel for an absolute emergency but it's come all the way from Cape Town and I'm determined not to use it just yet.

All the best
Jonathan
Gallery Error: Unknown Album [1:]:397
Friends of the Earth's Photos -

About & Links

Favorites
No Links Added Yet
SailBlogs Groups
Racing