S/V SweetEscape

with Your Cruising Editor

Prepping for the Getaway

Hello!

As this is my first post, it's a good time to share a little about my motivation - the "Why," if you will...

I love to travel and so does my First Mate Jann, my intrepid Husband and partner for 24 years. We met in 1998 at a yacht club (of course!) and 10 months later, sailed out the Golden Gate on S/V SAGA (an Alberg 35), for a five-year adventure. We cruised all the way to Florida, spending some time working and helping my mom for her last five years. It was there that I began my last career as an Editor for the top sailing & yachting magazines in the Country. I loved getting paid to sail and relished all of the amazing assignments that took me to many far-off ports including the Aegean, Greece, Croatia, the Caribbean, Costa Rica, Mexico, and more.

And although we didn't expect to return to California, we ended up heading the advice of my best friend, Annie - who said it was time to buy that house that I had always dreamed of - in Guerneville!!

I'm so thankful that I heeded that sage advice. We've loved living here in the Redwoods, surrounded by vineyards, next to the Russian River. It's been idyllic in so many ways.

But sometimes life gives you opportunities and I've always been someone to take advantage of those. We simply decided that it was a good time to make a change. Fortunately, our home has increased in value enough to afford us the luxury of buying the very boat that I have dreamed of owning and sailing... a catamaran. She'll be called "Sweeet Escape." (*You know you're a cruiser when you have picked out the name of your next boat before you sell the last one!).

The plan is to give Jann a few weeks to rehab from his recent knee replacement, put the house on the market and drive to South Florida to our new floating home. She's a Leopard 40 and she just completed a 15-year circumnavigation with her previous owners. We can't wait for this next chapter to begin.

Come along for the voyage of S/V Sweet Escape!




Comments