Cruising with Grace

20 May 2018 | My kitchen, Needham MA
16 May 2018 | Mooring 831, Hewitts Cove, Hingham MA
04 May 2018 | Cape May harbor, off the Coast Guard base
25 April 2018 | Onancock Creek
10 April 2018 | Barefoot Landing Marina, which is free while they are closed
02 April 2018 | Turtle Island, just inside the border with South Carolina
26 March 2018 | St Augustine Municipal Marina, right next to the Bridge of Lions
22 March 2018 | ICW Mile 946
17 March 2018 | Old Bahama Marina, West End, Bahamas
11 March 2018 | Conch Marina, Marsh Harbor
04 March 2018 | Anchored off Russell Island next to Spanish Wells
24 February 2018 | Off Monument Beach, Stocking Island
18 February 2018 | Anchored off Stocking Island, across the harbor from Georgetown
11 February 2018 | Georgetown
04 February 2018 | Nassau Harbor Club Marina
28 January 2018 | In a slip at the Nassau Harbor Club Marina
19 January 2018 | Anchorage between Whale and Bird Cay
15 January 2018 | South of Frazier Hog Island
11 January 2018 | Browns Marina, Bimini, Bahamas
07 January 2018 | No Name Harbor, Key Biscayne

Prepping and waiting

31 December 2017 | Anchored off Key Biscayne
Sunny day, although weather will be changing later this week.
After a short, almost too short, time with my family and friends in Massachusetts, I'm back on Grace. Since coming back, my time has been spent preparing for the Bahamas. And, as I finish up preparations, I am waiting for a window to cross to the Bahamas.

Preparation consists of:

- stocking up on food - especially food that is expensive in the Bahamas. This leaves out rum and bread (Bahamian bread is reputed to be excellent), but includes most other things. For example, I ordered 36 boxes of Natral milk. I also have canned goods, rice, pasta, dish soap, paper towels, sun screen, etc. Grace is now packed to the gills!

- unpacking and trying out my new gas-powered Ryobi generator. The electrician I worked with at Vero Beach suggested this as the simplest solution to having enough electrical power. A gas generator is designed to run for hours on a gallon of gas, is quieter than the diesel, and spares the diesel from having to run to charge the batteries - something boat diesels aren't designed for (they are designed to run at 80% of maximum RPM under load)

- a visit to Westmarine to get a light for the dinghy, outboard oil, a spare prop zinc, a masthead LED light, a 30 amp to 20 amp cord, and 5 gal containers for gasoline and water.

- re-certifying and filling my spare propane tank.

The weather window is critical for crossing the gulf stream. When the wind is blowing from any northernly direction - NE, N, NW, it is blowing against the gulf stream current. The result is short, steep waves that beat up a boat and crew. Think of the seas I had traveling from Galeville to Norfolk - only more so and for a lot longer. A weather window for crossing is when the wind is not from a northernly direction - and the more southernly, the better. Every boat that is planning to go to the Bahamas is waiting for these conditions, and why, when the conditions are right, there will be a long line of boats heading out at the same time.

Right now, the conditions don't look right for at least a week, and so I will be waiting.

Since my last post, I went home to Needham for my mother's 90th birthday and Christmas. My sister and I organized a luncheon for my mom's birthday with 25 family and friends. She had friends from all her range of activities - friends whom she traveled with to Europe and Asia, friends from her church, neighbors, cribbage partners and friends from the Active Older Adults group. It was wonderful to see her with these friends.

I also was able to catch-up with sailing friends - who wish they were on this trip. And for Christmas, I got a Quarantine flag, a Bahamas courtesy flag, and boat cards (business cards with the boat name, type, contact info for me, and pictures of the boat).

Although I was to have such a short visit with family, it was good to see Grace in the slip at Las Olas Marina. This marina is in a great location - Westmarine, grocery stores, etc only 2 miles away, and Ft Lauderdale beach is only a 10 minute walk. But it's not a great place to stay - under a major bridge, and right next to the ICW with all the boats kicking up wakes that rock and slam into Grace.

Yesterday, I decided to escape the marina and head to Biscayne Bay. The motor down the ICW was like all previous motors - boring. I passed by the Ft Lauderdale and Miami cruise ship terminals. These ships are huge - 12 decks of cabins. And the weather was cold (at least for Florida) - I put on my wool socks! Wool socks - I thought I was done with them!

Currently, I'm anchored off Key Biscayne, where the shore is lined with mansions. This is a popular anchorage - the difference between the anchorages in New England and here is most boats are 40-50' motor yachts. It has a great view of the Miami skyline, but is, unfortunately, rolly.

Tonight is New Years. This will be the first New Years in 32 years that I have not been with my wife Laura. It will be strange.

Since I have at least a week, I will be trying my hand at sailing again... It has been perhaps two months since I had the sails up and even longer since I've sailed without the motor running. Again, you wee where I am on my SPOT tracking page.
Comments
Vessel Name: Grace
Vessel Make/Model: Catalina 320
Hailing Port: Needham MA
Crew: Alex Cullen
Extra: This trip will be my 'transition to retirement'
Grace's Photos - Main
44 Photos
Created 22 March 2018
From Dec 29th thru until March
100 Photos
Created 31 December 2017
September to December
93 Photos
Created 29 September 2017