Cruising with Grace

20 May 2018 | My kitchen, Needham MA
16 May 2018 | Mooring 831, Hewitts Cove, Hingham MA
04 May 2018 | Cape May harbor, off the Coast Guard base
25 April 2018 | Onancock Creek
10 April 2018 | Barefoot Landing Marina, which is free while they are closed
02 April 2018 | Turtle Island, just inside the border with South Carolina
26 March 2018 | St Augustine Municipal Marina, right next to the Bridge of Lions
22 March 2018 | ICW Mile 946
17 March 2018 | Old Bahama Marina, West End, Bahamas
11 March 2018 | Conch Marina, Marsh Harbor
04 March 2018 | Anchored off Russell Island next to Spanish Wells
24 February 2018 | Off Monument Beach, Stocking Island
18 February 2018 | Anchored off Stocking Island, across the harbor from Georgetown
11 February 2018 | Georgetown
04 February 2018 | Nassau Harbor Club Marina
28 January 2018 | In a slip at the Nassau Harbor Club Marina
19 January 2018 | Anchorage between Whale and Bird Cay
15 January 2018 | South of Frazier Hog Island
11 January 2018 | Browns Marina, Bimini, Bahamas
07 January 2018 | No Name Harbor, Key Biscayne

No Name Harbor

04 January 2018 | No Name Harbor, Key Biscayne
cold and windy, damn it!
I'm currently anchored in a harbor called No Name Harbor - how it got it's name, I have no idea. No Name Harbor is located in Bill Baggs State Park. No mansions around me - to one side are mangroves, and the other side a sea wall and forests. There is a restaurant at the end of this harbor called Boater's Grill - fair menu, terrible beer selection. The state park is at the tip of Cape Florida. There are beaches on the east side looking out towards the Bahamas (40 miles away), a lighthouse, and forests of sea grape, banyan and mangrove trees. You leave the park and you are in highly developed Key Biscayne, with high-rises and shopping malls.

No Name Harbor is a popular place for boats to wait before they head off to the Bahamas or destinations further south. Currently, there are 12 boats anchored here - most of which are headed to the Bahamas the next weather window. Some have been here over a week - and since the next weather window looks to be next week, they'll wait a bit longer. I arrived here Monday, Jan 1. Yesterday, a front came through, with wind gusts up to 30 mph and rain. The rain has ended, to be replaced by cold, and it is still very windy - 20 mph. The wind chill is in the 30s. I'm wearing long underwear and wool socks again.

Since my last blog post, I tried my hand at sailing again - a welcome respite from the drone of the engine. I sailed in light to moderate winds outside Key Biscayne towards the Gulf Stream - going out 9 miles. Didn't get to the Gulf Stream, as it is about 14 miles out from the coast. The color of the water as I went out is amazing - go to the Gallery to see what it looks like when the sea is 20 ft deep, and what it is when the sea is 1200 ft deep. Coming back, I went through a channel with houses perched on stilts on the coral reef. That night, I anchored in Hurricane Harbor, which is surrounded by mansions. There is no shore access, unless you feel daring enough to dinghy over to a mansion and walk through their yard - and since I expect all mansions have gates, you still might not be able to go very far. As this was New Year's Eve, I was regaled by music from a salsa band and the sound of people partying.

Monday, Jan 1, I went for a short motor to where I am now. I've met several other cruisers: Bill on Calico Sky, Tom and his son Luke on Faith Afloat. Tom brought his boat here from Minnesota, starting in August - a journey of 2700 miles so far! After the Bahamas, he'll be making the same trek back. My time here has been spent on boat projects - and almost all of them are done. I don't know what I'll do when they are all done. I'll have to slow down even more.

As I write this, the Boston MA area is being socked by a blizzard - which will be followed by intense cold with temperatures down to -10. While I am sorry I can't be there to help my wife shovel (and despite the cold here) - I am glad I am in No Name Harbor rather than 1500 miles north!
Comments
Vessel Name: Grace
Vessel Make/Model: Catalina 320
Hailing Port: Needham MA
Crew: Alex Cullen
Extra: This trip will be my 'transition to retirement'
Grace's Photos - Main
44 Photos
Created 22 March 2018
From Dec 29th thru until March
100 Photos
Created 31 December 2017
September to December
93 Photos
Created 29 September 2017