SV Cygnet

This blog is sharing our love for sailing in the Pacific Northwest, Puget Sound and points beyond. Enjoy!

25 August 2010 | Bell Harbor to Port Townsend/Port Hudson
23 July 2010 | Blake Island to Bell Harbor
23 July 2010 | Boston Harbor to Blake Island
19 July 2010 | 47° 8'30.50"N/122°54'16.08"W
22 June 2010 | Dock Side, Olympia
15 June 2010 | Dock Side, Olympia
14 June 2010 | Dock Side, Olympia
12 June 2010 | 047.15.94N 122.44.730W
09 June 2010 | Dock Side Olympia
08 June 2010 | Tara Firma (AKA Home)
07 June 2010 | Dock Side Olympia, WA
25 April 2010 | Swantown Marina our slip

Summer 2010 Sailabout, Day One, July 3, 2010: Olympia to Boston Harbor

19 July 2010 | 47° 8'30.50"N/122°54'16.08"W
Mark
I woke up on the boat after a pleasant evening with Chuck and Windy. I had gone over to their boat to talk about picking up the Reynolds's life raft. I ended up helping them kill a couple of bottle of wine. What a great start to a much needed vacation. I took my time getting my day started. I knew that Annette would be very late and that I had plenty of time getting my chores done. I took a nice long shower and strolled back to the boat enjoying the sun on my face.

I made an early morning run to Trader Joe's and picked up some provisions. Came back to the boat and stored my goods. I called Windy and she met me at the storage sheds at the top of the docks. We both drug down the raft and secured it to the bars on the coach roof. Shortly after Tom and Michelle came strolling down the docks. They were off for some pizza and to find a cucumber. Annette show up only an hour and a half late. Tom came over and helped unload the car. Annette had three bags of clothes and two very large bags of food. I told Tom to go catch up with his family that I was going to be a while. Annette and I unpack and stowed everything on the boat, then we made a quick run to Wally World to pick up a few last minute things. Tom called around 15:00 and said that they were pushing back and going out to do a little sailing. I said that we'd catch up to them later.

By around 16:30 we were ready and backed Cygnet out of her slip and headed for Boston Harbor. The wind was blowing at about 6kts. Okay, but Annette needed to learn how to use the Auto Helm. So on the way she practiced changing course and engaging and disengaging Auto. By the time we made Boston Harbor Annette was in love with Auto. We made it to Boston Harbor in about an hour. Found a suitable spot and dropped anchor. Shortly after Ringo tied up to us on Starboard and Pyxis came in on Port. Tom dropped a second anchor. We all visited each other. Pearl came in after we all settled in and anchored to Starboard. Bob had friends that he rafted up with. We ended up having dinner on Pyxis. After a while we took up positions to watch fireworks. The display was wonderful as always. As soon as it was over the armada of boats that had assembled for the display disappeared as quickly as they had arrived, leaving the little harbor quite. The harbor was quite but for the wind that had picked up.
Comments
Vessel Name: Cygnet
Vessel Make/Model: Jeanneau SunShine 36/38
Hailing Port: Olympia WA
Crew: Mark & Annette
About:
This is a blog about the adventures of SV Cygnet and “The world according to Mark”. The Cygnet is a 1986 Jeanneau Sunshine 36/38. We the crew of Cygnet are; Skipper Mark, First Mistress Annette and Chloe the Sea Dog. [...]
Extra: I’m just an ordinary guy, living an extraordinary life! Life is good!

Cygnet

Who: Mark & Annette
Port: Olympia WA