Kia Ora

14 May 2015 | Fakarava Atoll, Tuamotus, French Polynesia
25 April 2015 | Hana Moe Noa, Tahuatu, Marquesas, French Polynesia
24 April 2015 | Atuona, Hiva Oa, Marquesas Islands, French Polynesia
13 April 2015 | Somewhere on the Pacific, still
11 April 2015 | Somewhere on the Pacific, still
11 April 2015 | Somewhere on the Pacific, still
09 April 2015 | Somewhere on the Pacific, still
02 April 2015 | Somewhere on the Pacific
07 March 2015 | Galapagos, Ecuador
07 March 2015 | San Cristobal, Galapagos
05 March 2015 | Galapagos
01 March 2015 | Galapagos Islands
27 February 2015 | Galapagos Islands
27 February 2015 | Pacific Ocean
26 February 2015 | Pacific Ocean
26 February 2015 | Pacific Ocean
26 February 2015 | Pacific Ocean
23 February 2015 | Pacific Ocean
18 February 2015 | Still in Las Perlas Islands
17 February 2015 | Las Perlas Islands, Panama

I hope nobody saw that!

20 March 2011 | Des Moines Marina, Seattle
Julie
Most of you who know me know that I’m not the most coordinated person in the world. While most clumsy people fall down stairs, I fall up… escalators… in a skirt… in a busy public place.

I’ve also managed to dump a full beer right into a very large rugby players lap. Oops.

Today was another lovely example of my ability to fall down. Our lazy jack system (a simple web of rope that is used to guide the sail into its storage bag when we take the sail down) had come down in a wind storm and Ken needed to go about 40’ up the mast to reinstall some hardware. I was walking on deck while looking up, untangling some of the lines and stepped right into an open deck hatch. I went down fast! My right leg was completely inside the boat and my left was up on deck (picture it). I could tell that Ken was holding back a chuckle because it looked funny watching me disappear like that but he wasn’t sure if I was hurt or not. I’m glad that Ken was there with me because I’m not sure how I would have gotten myself out of there. I’m now sporting a huge, tender bruise on my right thigh where I hit and scraped the hatch frame on my way down.

Less than 2 months from now I should be blogging about our adventures, not about boring projects and my mishaps.
Comments
Vessel Name: Kia Ora
Vessel Make/Model: Hylas 44
Hailing Port: Seattle, Washington, USA
Crew: Julie and Ken Dausman
Extra: In the spring of 2011 we left Seattle and headed north. We spent 6 months circumnavigating Vancouver Island. We headed out again in the summer of 2012 and are now cruising in Central America.

Heading South

Who: Julie and Ken Dausman
Port: Seattle, Washington, USA