Kia Ora

14 May 2015 | Fakarava Atoll, Tuamotus, French Polynesia
25 April 2015 | Hana Moe Noa, Tahuatu, Marquesas, French Polynesia
24 April 2015 | Atuona, Hiva Oa, Marquesas Islands, French Polynesia
13 April 2015 | Somewhere on the Pacific, still
11 April 2015 | Somewhere on the Pacific, still
11 April 2015 | Somewhere on the Pacific, still
09 April 2015 | Somewhere on the Pacific, still
02 April 2015 | Somewhere on the Pacific
07 March 2015 | Galapagos, Ecuador
07 March 2015 | San Cristobal, Galapagos
05 March 2015 | Galapagos
01 March 2015 | Galapagos Islands
27 February 2015 | Galapagos Islands
27 February 2015 | Pacific Ocean
26 February 2015 | Pacific Ocean
26 February 2015 | Pacific Ocean
26 February 2015 | Pacific Ocean
23 February 2015 | Pacific Ocean
18 February 2015 | Still in Las Perlas Islands
17 February 2015 | Las Perlas Islands, Panama

Pockets are for...

22 May 2013 | Puerto Los Gatos
Julie
Ken, Celeste and I hiked up to the top of a cliff at Los Gatos. The view from the top was amazing. I hadn't realized that the path we were on was so narrow and close to the edge until I turned around to go back down. That's when I froze. I had to force myself to put one foot in front of the other in order to get off the top. I don't know how mountain climbers do it. I hate heights.

The anchorage at Puerto Los Gatos has some pretty amazing tide pools. The four of us spent a couple of hours poking around in them, collecting shells and pretty rocks. Stuff always goes into my pockets but by the time I get back to the boat I tend to have dust. I found an interesting sand dollar. It wasn't so interesting once I turned it into 16 pieces though.

The snorkeling the the bay is pretty good too. Within 2 minutes of getting in the water Celeste had already found a scorpion fish. We also spotted butterflies, King Angels, surgeon fish, eels and lots of damsels. Ken found what has to be a rib bone of a whale. Leave it to him to find something like that. I'll never forget the time that we were scuba diving and he found a quarter at the bottom of the ocean.

The wildlife spotting has been getting better as we've been moving north. On our move to our current location, we had hundreds of dolphin playing around the boat. I got the GoPro out and I am hoping that the video turns out half as good as the real show was. We also spotted a Marlin jumping out of the water several times. He was very large. Celeste caught a large Dorado.

It's starting to get pretty warm here. I made a cake this afternoon and although it was great to share desert with our friends, I regretted turning the oven on and making the already warm cabin even warmer. I'm not complaining though. When we circumnavigated Vancouver Island it never stopped raining for more than an hour, never got over 64 degrees outside and our cabin heater broke. Give me a month or two here and I'll probably remember British Columbia as having a much nicer climate! :-)
Comments
Vessel Name: Kia Ora
Vessel Make/Model: Hylas 44
Hailing Port: Seattle, Washington, USA
Crew: Julie and Ken Dausman
Extra: In the spring of 2011 we left Seattle and headed north. We spent 6 months circumnavigating Vancouver Island. We headed out again in the summer of 2012 and are now cruising in Central America.

Heading South

Who: Julie and Ken Dausman
Port: Seattle, Washington, USA