Kia Ora

14 May 2015 | Fakarava Atoll, Tuamotus, French Polynesia
25 April 2015 | Hana Moe Noa, Tahuatu, Marquesas, French Polynesia
24 April 2015 | Atuona, Hiva Oa, Marquesas Islands, French Polynesia
13 April 2015 | Somewhere on the Pacific, still
11 April 2015 | Somewhere on the Pacific, still
11 April 2015 | Somewhere on the Pacific, still
09 April 2015 | Somewhere on the Pacific, still
02 April 2015 | Somewhere on the Pacific
07 March 2015 | Galapagos, Ecuador
07 March 2015 | San Cristobal, Galapagos
05 March 2015 | Galapagos
01 March 2015 | Galapagos Islands
27 February 2015 | Galapagos Islands
27 February 2015 | Pacific Ocean
26 February 2015 | Pacific Ocean
26 February 2015 | Pacific Ocean
26 February 2015 | Pacific Ocean
23 February 2015 | Pacific Ocean
18 February 2015 | Still in Las Perlas Islands
17 February 2015 | Las Perlas Islands, Panama

flu season

11 January 2014 | Barra de Navidad, Mexico
Laundry is usually a challenge on a cruising boat. I never know when I’ll be able to do my next load because we are always travelling to a new town whose facilities are unknown to me. Some marinas have laundry rooms but many times the machines there are not working. Some towns have laundry ladies near the marinas, some you have to carry your laundry a mile or more inland. Not in Barra. Here a lady and her brother paddle an old boat out to you to collect your dirties and the next day they bring you back a plastic bag full of fresh, clean, folded wonderfulness. All for the unbelievable price of about $2.50 per load (the last incredibly good deal left in Mexico). I tip her well.

2 weeks ago today I woke up grumpy. Later in the day I was taking the bus to town to do some grocery shopping with my friend Pam and started to feel icky. I thought it was just low blood sugar so I stopped for an ice cream cone before going in the store. I felt okay while shopping and we stopped for a sandwich afterwards. I couldn’t finish my sandwich (odd for me), we took a cab back to the marina, I loaded my bags onboard, put away the items that needed refrigeration and then needed to lie down. 5 days later, my groceries were still waiting to be put away and I still hadn’t eaten anything resembling a meal. Boy was I sick! We needed to move further south so when I thought I was up for it, we made an overnight passage to Barra de Navidad. Poor Ken had to do most of the work though because I didn’t have the strength to even stay awake on my watches. Once in Barra I went to the pharmacy and got myself on meds and felt better the next day. The whole ordeal took about 10 days to get over.

Ken woke up grumpy this morning. We spent the day at the pool where he complained of being cold. By the time we got back to the boat this afternoon, he had a fever of 101. We cancelled dinner plans with friends and today I plan to go into town to get him bananas, yoghurt and electrolyte because that is probably all he’ll be able to eat for several days. I hope that I can nurse him along well enough that he doesn’t suffer as much as I did.
Comments
Vessel Name: Kia Ora
Vessel Make/Model: Hylas 44
Hailing Port: Seattle, Washington, USA
Crew: Julie and Ken Dausman
Extra: In the spring of 2011 we left Seattle and headed north. We spent 6 months circumnavigating Vancouver Island. We headed out again in the summer of 2012 and are now cruising in Central America.

Heading South

Who: Julie and Ken Dausman
Port: Seattle, Washington, USA