Dessert First on the go!

25 March 2016
19 February 2016
03 November 2014 | Portland OR
07 May 2014 | Arlington, VA USA
14 April 2013 | Singapore
09 December 2012 | Singapore
12 October 2012 | Singapore
20 May 2012 | San Francisco. CA
20 April 2012
15 March 2012 | Singapore
15 March 2012 | Singapore
12 March 2012 | Singapore
10 March 2012 | Singapore
31 December 2011 | Singapore
20 November 2011
19 November 2011
18 November 2011

Dessert First resting in Singapore!

22 November 2009 | Singapore


This is a combination of a movie and slideshow of Singapore when I visited in 1968 and now!!



For the time being "Dessert First on the go!" is "Dessert First resting!"

I must say though that this is true for the boat but not its owner!

As I mentioned in my last entry I was planning a retreat with Vipassana and did follow through. I took a bus to Kuantan (on the East Coast of Malaysia) and found a nice retreat place. It is in a quiet, isolated spot in nice tropical surroundings. There are cottages with comfortable individual rooms with showers. For the exercises there are large retreat rooms and for the meals large separate dining halls for men and women. During the introduction we were reminded there would be no talking among participants during the 9 days of the retreat. Meditation was to start at 4am and end about 9pm with breaks for rest and eating. No music, no books or reading, just deep concentration. Well it all sounded interesting but then came the reality.... I must admit to my defeat. After three days I decided I could not really take it and in spite of much encouragement to stay, I left in disgrace. I rarely give up, but I guess I felt it was better to admit defeat than continue to stare at unsmiling faces and kind of being a museum piece, sitting on a chair in front of the group instead of the floor like everybody else. I still, secretly, hope that some day I might find the courage to reconsider it, now that I know more intimately what it is all about.

After my return to Sebana, I prepared for my short sail to Singapore which I finally accomplished on August 28 with my sailing friends Eleta and Steven. We returned to the One15 Marina on Sentosa Island where I had stayed before. Though it is quite an urban setting after isolated Sebana, it is a nice place with a beautiful pool where I do my daily laps.

As I mentioned in my last account, I had been invited to visit Singapore by a local lady, Jennifer Lee, who knew about On Lok and my work in the USA and wanted to introduce me to her friends who are planning a replication.

Well what can I tell you now: my life has suddenly changed from that of a carefree yachtie to a very busy city visitor. I don't think that I have ever experienced such a warm and generous reception by so many strange people. As it turns out, Jennifer, a trained physician and former hospital administrator, is heavily involved with the Singapore government's health care department. I swear she must know everybody in the government and Singapore and seems quite influential. In addition she is close friends with people who are starting to work with elderly, among others the Tsao Foundation and their president, Dr. Mary Ann Tsao. This family foundation upon Dr.Tsao's grandmother's wish started several years ago to develop clinics and home health programs with the ultimate goal of creating an "On Lok" replication. She had visited On Lok during a visit to San Francisco in the 90ies and found this to be her ideal. Just as I arrived they opened a beautiful "living room" (what we called a day health center). When I thought about our dire beginnings in San Francisco in the early seventies, I was green with envie. (Pictures in the photo album)

Beside having the support of a foundation, they are also trying to get involved with the government. As everywhere else, people are becoming aware of the growing elderly population and so the local government is toying with a "capitated reimbursement " experiment for non insititutional care for the elderly a la PACE. Now does all that not sound familiar?
So is it surprising that they felt that I had dropped into their lap just at the right time. I let you figure out the rest. I am just not sure whether at 81 and after 16 years of sailing I am still up to fulfilling any of their expectations. In any case up to now I have enjoyed some of that volunteer work.

Of course beside all that I have met lots of people, given some talks and mostly enjoyed a city social life. I was even invited to a concert by the New York Philharmonic Orchestra at the Esplanade Concert and Opera Center.

What can I say? The first time I visited Singapore was in 1968...... The little slide show on top is the result of some movie pictures I took at that time and pictures of what it looks like now!! Quite amazing.

Depending on my success or lack thereof with the Tsao Foundations "Hua Mei" project, I will plan the length of stay in Singapore. For about May next year I am still planning on some sailing, perhaps to the Malaysian part of Borneo or Phuket in Thailand. Who knows? My plans are wide open. In the meantime I have rented my condo in Hawaii and am still looking forward to ultimately settle there. I just have a hard time separating from the boat.

In case you want to reach me, please use this email address: mlansak@gmail.com. All the others are not operational at this point.

Have a nice Thanksgiving!
Comments
Vessel Name: Dessert First
Vessel Make/Model: Corbin 39
Hailing Port: San Francisco, CA
Extra:
Though I am no longer sailing regularly I continue using this blog since I continue to live on my boat at One15Marina, Sentosa Cove, Singapore. This allows me to keep in touch with my friends and sailing friends without too many disruptions. As for my background: I was born in Switzerland [...]
Dessert First's Photos - Main
New Year parade!
8 Photos
Created 7 March 2010
A few pictures of Singapore and Hua Mei, the potential replication of PACE/On Lok
15 Photos
Created 22 November 2009
These are some of the pictures of my trip to the USA and Hawaii, my potential new homes there: KoOlina Marina or Atkinson Plaza Condo.
34 Photos | 1 Sub-Album
Created 1 August 2009
36 Photos
Created 28 February 2009
Orchids in Singapore's Botanical Garden
6 Photos
Created 25 December 2008
My temporary home, fall 2008
3 Photos
Created 17 October 2008
A week in Bali!
6 Photos
Created 13 October 2008
6 Photos | 1 Sub-Album
Created 11 October 2008

Information about me

Port: San Francisco, CA

Whereabouts of DF

Information about SV Dessert First: Type of boat: Corbin 39 Built by: Corbin Les Bateaux, Quebec, Canada Year launched: 1981 Designer: Dufour Construction: Fiberglass with Airex core Length: 39 ft. Width: 12 ft. Draft: 5.5 ft. Type of rig: Cutter Furling systems: Jib: Harkin Main: Reef Rite, New Zealand Auto Pilot: Alpha 3000 Watermaker: Spectra Solar panels and Wind Generator Auxiliar Engine: Yanmar 58 Life raft: Viking and dinghy