Dessert First on the go!

25 March 2016
19 February 2016
03 November 2014 | Portland OR
07 May 2014 | Arlington, VA USA
14 April 2013 | Singapore
09 December 2012 | Singapore
12 October 2012 | Singapore
20 May 2012 | San Francisco. CA
20 April 2012
15 March 2012 | Singapore
15 March 2012 | Singapore
12 March 2012 | Singapore
10 March 2012 | Singapore
31 December 2011 | Singapore
20 November 2011
19 November 2011
18 November 2011

May - July 2009 in the USA

07 August 2009 | Sebana, Malaysia
See photo gallery for pictures of my potential new homes!

Time, as usual, seems to fly! For the last two months I have been visiting the USA and making some major decisions. First I visited all my friends in San Francisco, Portland OR, Claremont Ca, Washington DC and Berkeley and then I got to Hawaii which seemed to present me with the biggest recent challenge: what will the future hold?

While I was in San Francisco I saw a good orthopedic surgeon who told me he could try to fix my knee but it would take about six months till I was fully rehabilitated. In addition I have become aware of the deterioration of my second knee. (So much for skiing all my life) All this can possibly be repaired but it takes time and after all I am just about 81. In the meantime the doctor gave me a good brace and told me to think about it.

So that brought me closer and closer to a decision which I have been trying to put on the back burner: when and where will I spend my final retirement? During my stay in San Francisco I realized that the climate there is not what I have been used to during the past 16 years. This helped me make the decision that I should look for another place. There are many nice places in the world: Malaysia where I am now is good for a retiree's budget and warm and welcoming, In Australia I have a retirement visa which would allow me to stay However, both are far from my friends and few of them have expressed an interest in visiting either place. So all this led me back to my original dream of retiring in Hawaii. I had thought about this during the past few months and therefore was careful to arrange for a flight back to the US via Hawaii!!

My first inclination was of retiring on the boat and I therefore made a reservation at KoOlina Marina on Oahu, a nice new place in a more isolated area on the west coast of Oahu.

Then I thought about a place on land in case I could or would not want to continue living aboard or could not face the hard sail back to Hawaii from Malaysia. My first choice was the big island but local friends convinced me that it would not be the best of choice for a retirement home because of the pollution created by the spewing volcanoes and poor health care availability and general isolation.

So at the end I chose what I never thought I would: Honolulu, near Waikiki of all places! But the more I thought about it, the better it sounded. Close to entertainment, activities and shopping a good beach and health care (in addition to a friend who is a geriatrician for Kaiser and is developing On Lok in Hawaii!!!). So during my stay there I did two things: one make a reservation for the future at KoOlina Marina in case I get there by boat.... the other I bought a condominium (1 bedroom with good lanai and a pool on the roof) close to Ala Moana). Another advantage of that location is that I can easily rent it out while I am still underway. So it seems to me I have found solutions for all eventualities (except the unexpected ones!!!).

Now I am involved in all the shenanigans of the purchase of property while physically far away. It reminds me of 1970 when we were in Canada and bought the house in Mill Valley. In any case I have a good realtor and both the purchase and initial rental should work out.

Now I am back in Sebana on the boat and wonder how I can ever leave my familiar nice home. Next week I will participate in a Vipassana retreat and afterwards head by boat to Singapore for about a month. I will be visiting with people who are interested in starting an On Lok!!! Then I shall sail to Langkawi in the north and see how sailing goes with my nice good knee brace. It might then encourage or discourage me from attempting a sail back to Hawaii.

That trip would either entail a crossing from Japan, a sail through the southern ocean to Tahiti or a trip around South Africa. All major endeavors which would demand good crew. So if you are interested let me know!









Comments
Vessel Name: Dessert First
Vessel Make/Model: Corbin 39
Hailing Port: San Francisco, CA
Extra:
Though I am no longer sailing regularly I continue using this blog since I continue to live on my boat at One15Marina, Sentosa Cove, Singapore. This allows me to keep in touch with my friends and sailing friends without too many disruptions. As for my background: I was born in Switzerland [...]
Dessert First's Photos - Main
New Year parade!
8 Photos
Created 7 March 2010
A few pictures of Singapore and Hua Mei, the potential replication of PACE/On Lok
15 Photos
Created 22 November 2009
These are some of the pictures of my trip to the USA and Hawaii, my potential new homes there: KoOlina Marina or Atkinson Plaza Condo.
34 Photos | 1 Sub-Album
Created 1 August 2009
36 Photos
Created 28 February 2009
Orchids in Singapore's Botanical Garden
6 Photos
Created 25 December 2008
My temporary home, fall 2008
3 Photos
Created 17 October 2008
A week in Bali!
6 Photos
Created 13 October 2008
6 Photos | 1 Sub-Album
Created 11 October 2008

Information about me

Port: San Francisco, CA

Whereabouts of DF

Information about SV Dessert First: Type of boat: Corbin 39 Built by: Corbin Les Bateaux, Quebec, Canada Year launched: 1981 Designer: Dufour Construction: Fiberglass with Airex core Length: 39 ft. Width: 12 ft. Draft: 5.5 ft. Type of rig: Cutter Furling systems: Jib: Harkin Main: Reef Rite, New Zealand Auto Pilot: Alpha 3000 Watermaker: Spectra Solar panels and Wind Generator Auxiliar Engine: Yanmar 58 Life raft: Viking and dinghy