Dragon's Dance

Vessel Name: Dragon's Dance
Vessel Make/Model: Pearson 365 Ketch
Hailing Port: St Marks, FL
Crew: Carol and Ron w/Riley the Cruising Cat
22 February 2013 | Ft Meyers Beach
09 February 2013 | Matanzas Pass
30 January 2013 | Ft Meyers Beach
08 January 2013 | Clearwater Fl
28 December 2012 | Clearwater Beach, FL
09 December 2012 | Clearwater Harbor
06 December 2012 | Clearwater Harbor
06 December 2012 | Clearwater Harbor
05 December 2012 | Back in Clearwater
02 December 2012 | St Petersburg FL
27 November 2012 | Clearwater Harbor
23 November 2012 | Clearwater Harbor
22 November 2012 | Clearwater Harbor
22 November 2012 | Clearwater Harbor
22 November 2012 | Clearwater Harbor
22 November 2012 | Clearwater Harbor
22 November 2012 | Clearwater Harbor
20 November 2012 | Clearwater Harbor
19 November 2012 | Clearwater Harbor
16 November 2012 | Clearwater Harbor
Recent Blog Posts
22 February 2013 | Ft Meyers Beach

Laving Ft Myers Beach

The time has come to get going again. Hard to believe that we have been here almost a month. But, weather permitting we will pull out no later than Monday the 25th. We are now truly serious cruisers even though we are still just rednecks with a boat. We sold the truck yesterday which was out last [...]

09 February 2013 | Matanzas Pass

Boat life

I'm reminded today how much different boat life is from living on dirt. Some things are easier and better. For instance, we very quickly know almost all our neighbors in any anchorage we stop. Almost all are ready to help with anything from advice to repairs and parts. Local knowledge gets shared [...]

30 January 2013 | Ft Meyers Beach

Now in Mantanzas Harbor

Well it has been a while since I updated this so here goes. Obviously we did pull out of Clearwater leaving, reluctantly, behind some very good new friends that we hope to see again. Right now I am sitting on a mooring ball in Ft Meyers Beach and enjoying my birthday. 62. Never thought I'd get this [...]

08 January 2013 | Clearwater Fl

Still in Clearwater but leaving soon

We are still in Clearwater. Both Jackie and I have been down with head colds these past couple of weeks. Other than that it is still great here. Weather today will be around 80 and sunny. Sorry to all our northern living buddies but I can't help it. Below 70 here is winter! We spent New Years day [...]

28 December 2012 | Clearwater Beach, FL

I'm back!

It has been quite a while since I've posted anything. One reason was the Christmas holiday activities and the other is that my computer died. I have to say though that the Apple Store guys are great. It took several trips to diagnose and I had to reload my whole operating system. In the end it was [...]

09 December 2012 | Clearwater Harbor

Christmas Boat Parade

Last night was the annual Christmas boat parade down here. There were lots of boats all highly decorated. Most were in the 60+ ft category. Most had lots of people aboard and lots of music was playing. But my favorite was this guy all by himself in his little dinghy. He was having a great time. I don't know how he managed to power all the lights in just a dink but I want to know what kind of alternator he is running.

Boat Show

02 December 2012 | St Petersburg FL
Capt Ron
Well, we went down to St Pete for the boat show the past few days. We haven't been to a boat show in a while and now I remember why. There were very few real bargains on equipment and the seminars were more like infomercials that real seminars with serious content. I suppose that is to be expected. After all they are there to sell. But still, I was a bit disappointed. Also the show was much smaller this year than in the past. I suppose that is due to the economy but I missed seeing SailCare and Sailrite, Optima was not there. I missed seeing some of the smaller vendors with things like ditty bags, spotlights, etc.

We did pick up a few things. I finally converted all of our interior lighting to LED. The power savings is impressive. With all the lights aboard I but less that 0.25 amps now. Should help our power conservation at anchor.

I also picked up a good price on some line. Carol bought one of those stretchy hoses and we'll give that a try to see how it holds up to the pressures of cruising.

There was not much to take pictures of. I posted a shot of the harbor on Facebook if you are interested. We were not really impressed with the new boats compared to our old girl. I am happy and I didn't have to spend a few hundred $k on a new one that would need work anyway.

So, here is sunrise over Clearwater on our return. Better than boat show shots anyway.
Comments

About & Links