Cruising with Kids: S/V Dream Catcher

We've sold the house, bought the boat and will homeschool our children for the next year or two aboard our 43' Sailing Catamaran. Follow the adventures of the Daniels' family as they cruise the caribbean.

10 July 2007 | Provincetown, MA
29 June 2007 | Cape May, NJ
18 June 2007 | Washington DC
04 June 2007 | Beaufort, NC
22 May 2007 | Green Turtle
20 May 2007 | Green Turtle
19 May 2007 | Guana Cay
12 May 2007 | Hope town Abacos
03 May 2007 | Eluthera Island
23 April 2007 | Fernandez Bay, Cat Island
14 April 2007 | Dover New Hampshire
02 April 2007 | Georgetown
21 March 2007 | Turks & Caicos
17 March 2007 | Mayaguana
10 March 2007 | Georgetown, Bahamas
01 March 2007 | Jamentos
27 February 2007 | Thompson Bay, LI
15 February 2007 | Georgetown
07 February 2007 | Georgetown
25 January 2007 | Conception, Exumas

The Journey Home

29 April 2006 | Dennis Point
Lisa
We eagerly left Dennis Point and began Dream Catcher's journey home. We decided not to officially rename her until she came home to NH.
Her old name was removed from the transom. However, there were too many other items on the boat with her old name. We didn't want to anger the gods by missing something. So we decided to do the naming ceremonies in New Hampshire.

I took her off of the dock and showed off my new skills. The wind was on my bow and I had them remove the bow then the spring lines as we pivoted off of the stern line. DJ fendered us off and we spun around and slid off the dock. It was textbook (thank god). I guess I was feeling pretty confident and then we came out of the bay into the Chesapeake, Dave looked at me with a smirking grin and announced "let's sail". I guess he wanted me to show off some more of my newly acquired skills. My heart could have pounded right out of my chest. Would I remember what I had learned? This boat was rigged up so differently. All of this doubt washed away when I saw everyone's big smiles of encouragement. So up went the mainsail. All the way up. Wow, a 65 foot mast holds a lot of sail! OK...now my heart was beating more regularly. Just when I thought I had found my cadence, Dave announces, "let's let out the jib". It turns out it is a genoa. I learned the difference in sailing school. I checked the wind speed and agreed the conditions were right. 15mph. We sailed a broad reach. She was up to 8 knots. I was feeling incredibly empowered. After about an hour, we had to change our course to head North into the Chesapeake towards Annapolis. This caused us to beat into the wind (not fun). Some seaspray made its way over the bow and into the cockpit. The kids loved getting a little wet. It was fun for them for the first hour or so. Then they hid under a sleeping bag. All in all it was a great day. We were sailors today!
Comments
Vessel Name: Dream Catcher
Vessel Make/Model: Voyage Norseman 430
Hailing Port: Dover Point, NH
Crew: The Daniels
About: Dave , Lisa, DJ (13). Nicole (11)
Extra:
We've sold the house, bought the boat and will homeschool our children for the next year or two aboard our 43' Sailing Catamaran. Follow the adventures of the Daniels' family as they cruise the caribbean. "Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn't do than [...]
Home Page: http://www.sailblogs.com/member/dreamcatcher/

Our Profile

Who: The Daniels
Port: Dover Point, NH