Cruising with Kids: S/V Dream Catcher

We've sold the house, bought the boat and will homeschool our children for the next year or two aboard our 43' Sailing Catamaran. Follow the adventures of the Daniels' family as they cruise the caribbean.

10 July 2007 | Provincetown, MA
29 June 2007 | Cape May, NJ
18 June 2007 | Washington DC
04 June 2007 | Beaufort, NC
22 May 2007 | Green Turtle
20 May 2007 | Green Turtle
19 May 2007 | Guana Cay
12 May 2007 | Hope town Abacos
03 May 2007 | Eluthera Island
23 April 2007 | Fernandez Bay, Cat Island
14 April 2007 | Dover New Hampshire
02 April 2007 | Georgetown
21 March 2007 | Turks & Caicos
17 March 2007 | Mayaguana
10 March 2007 | Georgetown, Bahamas
01 March 2007 | Jamentos
27 February 2007 | Thompson Bay, LI
15 February 2007 | Georgetown
07 February 2007 | Georgetown
25 January 2007 | Conception, Exumas

Adjustments

27 July 2006 | Edgertown on the Vineyard
Lisa
Yes, I am here. Dave has been great about keeping up the blog. I think it will be more of his thing than mine. Living aboard has been great so far. Although we have had our rough patches getting use to being in the same space. We have found that a chore assignment list has helped with a lot of these adjustments. Keeping the kids on a schedule is the key to everyone's happiness. Mom isn't doing everything anymore. I have, however, done most of the cooking. I have really enjoyed it. Maybe that will wear off after time. We have enjoyed muscles in NH and crab in MA. DJ has tried every day to catch some flounder or fluke. I swear I have paid more for bait then it would cost to purchase a large fillet of cod at the grocery store. It keeps him busy and that is VERY important.

I am becoming more comfortable with sailing. We had her up to 10.5 kts and I get a little wigged out when we go that fast. I am learning what Dream Catcher can handle and what I can handle. I have slept well on anchor every night. I haven't worried about dragging. Our Delta anchor it doing a great job. Although, I am not crazy about tonight's anchorage. It is very crowded and I don't know if I will sleep well listening for a dreaded bump in the middle of the night. Tomorrow we are going to purchase bus passes and check out the island. Dave asked a guy where we could get cheap eats and he said, you realize that you are in Martha's Vineyard�. He did recommend one place. We have budgeted a meal or two out a week so we will have to check it out.

I love and miss everyone at home. I wish I could put you all in my back pocket and show you the beautiful sights that I am lucky enough to see. Keep us in your prayers.
Comments
Vessel Name: Dream Catcher
Vessel Make/Model: Voyage Norseman 430
Hailing Port: Dover Point, NH
Crew: The Daniels
About: Dave , Lisa, DJ (13). Nicole (11)
Extra:
We've sold the house, bought the boat and will homeschool our children for the next year or two aboard our 43' Sailing Catamaran. Follow the adventures of the Daniels' family as they cruise the caribbean. "Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn't do than [...]
Home Page: http://www.sailblogs.com/member/dreamcatcher/

Our Profile

Who: The Daniels
Port: Dover Point, NH