Drifter's Wind - Hopes and Dreams

08 March 2009 | St. Joseph Island
01 July 2008 | boat in Florida / us in Ontario
18 April 2008 | St. Joseph Island
23 March 2008 | Stuart, Florida
16 August 2007 | Still on St. Joseph Island
12 June 2007 | St. Joe - Midland - St. Joe 1000 km 13 hours
19 May 2007 | St. Joseph Island, Ontario, Canada
04 May 2007 | St. Joe Island
14 April 2007 | St. Joseph Island thinking of Curacao

No sale . . .

12 June 2007 | St. Joe - Midland - St. Joe 1000 km 13 hours
Well today was survey day on the Dickerson 37. My offer had been accepted by the owner and I was hopeful there wouldn't be too much wrong that would spoil the deal. How wrong I was! Within the first 20 minutes, a series of stress cracks was discovered in the underside of the hull together with an area of delamination. With moisture readings off the scale on one meter and as high as 35 on another, the surveyor announced that we had a major problem. At this point, the broker joined us and took a look for himself. A check with the service manager estimated it would cost approximately $5000 to repair and I could expect to have my boat back around the end of the summer. So early in the survey and having driven 6 hours to join him, the surveyor offered the chance to cut my losses and curtail things right then. Although I had a crew arranged and a berth reserved at a marina near my home . . . I walked away. With June almost 1/2 over, we start the search again.
Comments
Vessel Name: Drifter's Wind
Vessel Make/Model: modified Morgan 382
Hailing Port: St. Joseph Island, Ontario, Canada
Crew: Wayne and Karen
About: Wayne and Karen with visits from family members Brendan (our metalsmith), Emily (our social director) and Benjamin (our techie and mechanic)
Extra: ""you can never go back again, so I gave my heart to the Drifter's Wind"

vanfam crew

Who: Wayne and Karen
Port: St. Joseph Island, Ontario, Canada