ELIXIR

A circumnavigation of UK - 2022

So what do I do …

... when I am "off" watch.

There's a lot to do when sailing a boat - especially with the overall distance we have to cover in total. On the longer 30+ hour legs all you can/ should do is rest/ snooze. On the shorter legs of less than 12 hours there's time to do other things - if the sea & weather are calm!!

I'm off watch right now so thought I'd share a couple of things I've been doing:

- read the paper every day, for me the Times, to keep abreast current affairs. The world can be crap right now with Ukraine, cost of living crisis l, etc but there are good things - like Cameron Norris in the mens 1/4 finals at Wimbledon. And weirdly British things like the "go slow" fuel protest...

- reading/ listening (on audible) the latest Jack Reacher book - even though Lee Child's has handed the pen over to his younger brother it still reads great.

- listening to my regular podcasts which are a mix of comedy, informative & sometimes educational including
- radio 4 Friday night comedy (News Quiz)
- BBC Newscast
- Simplify by Blinkist
- the Political Party with Matt Forde
- diary of a CEO with Stephen Bartlett
- Curious cases of Rutherford & Fry
- to name but a few

- reading / listening to Blinkist (key summaries of many non-fiction books) to understand the basic points or pick deeper reads

- listening to music, any style really (except the lesser known classical - if it's not been in an advert or mixed into an Ibiza classic it's not for me!

Anyhoo, I'm quite introverted and happy in my own company so there's always lots for me to keep myself occupied.

Comments