Adventures of Eowyn of Hamble

Log of Eowyn's sailing adventures. Plan for 2021 is sail around Great Britain, if COVID allows enough ports to open!

14 September 2021 | Hamble
12 September 2021 | Port Hamble
11 September 2021 | Beaulieu River
10 September 2021 | Portland
09 September 2021 | Dittisham
02 September 2021 | Plymouth
01 September 2021 | Fowey
31 August 2021 | Falmouth
30 August 2021 | Penzance
26 August 2021 | Padstow
25 August 2021 | Lundy (Jenny's Cove)
24 August 2021 | Milford Haven (Sandy Haven Bay)
23 August 2021 | Milford Haven (Dale)
22 August 2021 | Fishguard
21 August 2021 | Arklow
19 August 2021 | Greystones
18 August 2021 | Malahide and Dublin
15 August 2021 | Malahide Marina
15 August 2021 | Carlingford Marina
14 August 2021 | Ardglass

View from the train

25 April 2021
Martin Crick
As I was confined to port in Newhaven for a few days, I decided to take the train and go home for a night, to check on things.

The trip home on Saturday was great: I haven't travelled any distance by train for ages, and I found I really enjoyed it. I suspect that not having a schedule of any sort helped me relax! The view from the train through Sussex was beautiful.

The return trip on Sunday was not so uneventful! Southwest Trains changed their minds three times about whether the first train would stop at Clapham Junction - only deciding it would after they'd shut the doors with me on the platform! Grrr! Their next train was going to stop there - until they changed their minds leaving me at Barnes waiting for a third train. To go two stops from home! Then, at Clapham, Southern had to go one better (or is that worse?) than Southwestern. Not only was the train I should be on cancelled, their information system told me there was no viable route to Newhaven - ever! Staff on the platform advised me to take the first train to Croydon and try from there. That turned out to be good advice: after only 4 minutes, I got a Thameslink to Brighton and thence easily to Newhaven.

I'm not sure now which is worse: travelling on the remains of British Rail, or trying to get a tide & wind combination to get from Newhaven to Dover...
Comments
Vessel Name: Eowyn of Hamble
Vessel Make/Model: Hallberg-Rassy 36 Mk1 1993
Hailing Port: Hamble
Crew: Martin Crick
Eowyn of Hamble's Photos - Main
No items in this gallery.