Adventures of Eowyn of Hamble

Log of Eowyn's sailing adventures. Plan for 2021 is sail around Great Britain, if COVID allows enough ports to open!

14 September 2021 | Hamble
12 September 2021 | Port Hamble
11 September 2021 | Beaulieu River
10 September 2021 | Portland
09 September 2021 | Dittisham
02 September 2021 | Plymouth
01 September 2021 | Fowey
31 August 2021 | Falmouth
30 August 2021 | Penzance
26 August 2021 | Padstow
25 August 2021 | Lundy (Jenny's Cove)
24 August 2021 | Milford Haven (Sandy Haven Bay)
23 August 2021 | Milford Haven (Dale)
22 August 2021 | Fishguard
21 August 2021 | Arklow
19 August 2021 | Greystones
18 August 2021 | Malahide and Dublin
15 August 2021 | Malahide Marina
15 August 2021 | Carlingford Marina
14 August 2021 | Ardglass

Better drowned than duffers...

07 May 2021 | Suffolk Yacht Harbour
Martin Crick
... if not duffers, won't drown

Thus read the telegram in Swallows and Amazons from the children's father to their mother, giving them permission to sail and camp on the island. A somewhat Darwinian approach to parenting!

Well, I've been a duffer, but I haven't drowned.

Eowyn's fuel is carried in two tanks - upper and lower - with a connecting valve. Fuel flows from the filler, through the upper, into the lower (if the valve is open) and the engine draws from the lower tank. When I filled up back on the Hamble, I closed the connecting valve, to keep the upper tank as a reserve. I noticed after a short while that I'd forgotten to put the fuel cap back in. I hastily screwed it in, noted that the deck was dry, and thought I'd got away with it.

Today, having motored much of the way from Newhaven, I thought I'd fill up again, so opened the connecting valve. Filled up, and moved off the fuel berth to leave the marina. In the entrance, the engine died. Not again, I thought! Hastily pulled out the jib, sailed out of the entrance into the river, and radioed the marina for help. They're getting used to my distress calls by now, responded admirably, and towed me into the visitor berth.

By then I suspected what had happened. Inspecting the sight glass on the fuel pre-filter, sure enough, solid white (instead of clear red) showing emulsified water in the fuel.

There's a drain plug on the bottom of the filter, and a very small manual pump on the engine, so I've spent the afternoon draining off the water. About 4-6 pints! No wonder the engine wouldn't run. Fortunately, the marina is well set up with a waste drum just for contaminated diesel, so that's where all the fluid has gone.

Tomorrow morning, the mechanic will come on board again to clean the injectors, change the filters, and hopefully get her running again.

Having done that, I used the excellent facilities to get my laundry done. Not the day I'd hoped for, but I have only myself to blame.
Comments
Vessel Name: Eowyn of Hamble
Vessel Make/Model: Hallberg-Rassy 36 Mk1 1993
Hailing Port: Hamble
Crew: Martin Crick
Eowyn of Hamble's Photos - Main
No items in this gallery.