Adventures of Eowyn of Hamble

Log of Eowyn's sailing adventures. Plan for 2021 is sail around Great Britain, if COVID allows enough ports to open!

14 September 2021 | Hamble
12 September 2021 | Port Hamble
11 September 2021 | Beaulieu River
10 September 2021 | Portland
09 September 2021 | Dittisham
02 September 2021 | Plymouth
01 September 2021 | Fowey
31 August 2021 | Falmouth
30 August 2021 | Penzance
26 August 2021 | Padstow
25 August 2021 | Lundy (Jenny's Cove)
24 August 2021 | Milford Haven (Sandy Haven Bay)
23 August 2021 | Milford Haven (Dale)
22 August 2021 | Fishguard
21 August 2021 | Arklow
19 August 2021 | Greystones
18 August 2021 | Malahide and Dublin
15 August 2021 | Malahide Marina
15 August 2021 | Carlingford Marina
14 August 2021 | Ardglass

Quid pro quo

16 June 2021 | Wick
Martin Crick | SW 10-20kts; Fair
Well, after the last passage I deserved a good one, and I sure got one!

I left Lossiemouth this morning at about 8am, my lines being helpfully cast off by Paul of yacht Juno, who's also given me the coordinates of his mooring on Loch Fyne - thank you Paul!

On leaving the harbour, the sky was split in half. To the east was a rather dramatic and threatening looking mass of cloud - but thankfully that was down wind and not where I was going! To the west, upwind, the sky was clear blue with a lovely view of Lossiemouth behind me.

I set full sail, and with 8-10kts on the beam was soon sailing happily along at a good pace very comfortable. Gradually the wind freshened, and backed slightly, putting me on a broad reach to a run. Eowyn was beginning to roll a lot, so I rigged a preventer - a line from the back of the boom to the front of the boat, that stops the boom swinging across in a gybe.

Later, having passed platforms for what I think was the Jacky field, the wind was up to 22-25kts. Too much for full rig. I rolled up the jib, put the engine on and came head to wind to drop the main. Somewhat uncomfortable as she was rolling a lot by now and I had to hold on tight while at the mast. Soon done, back on course, engine off again with just the jib set and going almost as fast as before.

On entering Wick Bay, I radioed up the Harbour Master, confirming I could berth where I liked. As I came in, he met me on the pontoon and took my lines: that's a really useful welcome!

Several very friendly other yacht crews on the visitors' pontoon, including one that followed me in and had seen me back in Lowestoft! Supper from the chippy, shower, and at 9:30pm it's still bright sunlight. This is what I was hoping for!

Log of this passage
Comments
Vessel Name: Eowyn of Hamble
Vessel Make/Model: Hallberg-Rassy 36 Mk1 1993
Hailing Port: Hamble
Crew: Martin Crick
Eowyn of Hamble's Photos - Main
No items in this gallery.