Five Islands

Who: Ralph & Karen
Port: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
13 May 2011 | Calgary, Canada
29 March 2011 | Cusco, Peru
16 March 2011 | La Paz, Bolivia
14 March 2011 | Puno, Peru
10 March 2011 | Ariquipa, Peru
07 March 2011 | Nazca Peru
01 March 2011 | Lima Peru
23 February 2011 | Panamarina, Panama
19 February 2011 | Miradup, San Blas, Panama
16 February 2011 | Miradup, San Blas, Panama
13 February 2011 | Rio Sidra & Canbombia, San Blas, Panama
11 February 2011 | Salardup, San Blas, Panama
08 February 2011 | Nargana, San Blas, Panama
04 February 2011 | Nargana, San Blas, Panama
02 February 2011 | Hot tub, Holandes Islands, San Blas, Panama
01 February 2011 | Robeson Islands, San Blas, Panama
01 February 2011 | Robeson Islands, San Blas, Panama
30 January 2011 | Salardup, San Blas, Panama
30 January 2011 | Salardup, San Blas, Panama
28 January 2011 | Salardup, San Blas, Panama

One more week to haul out

14 June 2010 | Shelter Bay, Panama
Ralph
We are continuing to work away at our boat projects before putting her on the hard for our trip home. I put another coat of epoxy on the cracked batten and I think I have it fixed. I will sand it down later today and the job should be finished. I also decided to install new float switches for the bilge pumps. The current system does not work that well, so I had bought new switches back in the USA before I left, but just never got around to installing them. We seem to have water leaking in when it rains and it would be a disaster if the bilge pumps did not work properly while we were gone for a couple of months. These new switches are screwed down and after consulting with a couple of other boaters, I was confident that the bottom of the keel was thick enough to drill a shallow hole to screw them into. WRONG!!!! Next thing you know I had a little water spout shooting up from the bottom of our boat!!!! After a few minutes to recover from the - "Wholly shit - I can't believe I just did that", I got it sealed up and will finish the patch when we get the boat hauled next week. Now I am sure everybody reading this is thinking - "How could you do this". But I was SURE that the fibreglass was plenty thick enough at this spot. I was not going to put anything in blog about this screw up, but Karen quickly put something on facebook, so I figured I better tell the whole story. BTW, I figured out a new way to install my new switches and it does not involve a drill.

We are heading into Panama City today to see if we can find a dehumidifier to have running on the boat while we are gone. Mold and mildew are a big problem here with the high humidity and temperatures, and with the boat closed up tight we would be sure to come back to a mess if we don't have one.

We had a comment about the great smile Karen has on the previous picture. On looking through our canal transit pictures, we ALWAYS had great big smiles. We really enjoyed the experience.
Comments
Vessel Name: Five Islands
Vessel Make/Model: Lagoon 37' TPI
Hailing Port: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Crew: Ralph & Karen
About: Married 26 years and looking for new adventures to share. Wanting to learn more about the world and about ourselves.
Extra: Five Islands is named after a small island located in the Winnipeg River where many memories were made. We view our boat as the opportunity see amazing places that will create quality memories like the ones made at Five Islands.

Five Islands

Who: Ralph & Karen
Port: Calgary, Alberta, Canada