Geisha Sailing Adventures

14 December 2010 | Port Canaveral, Fl
08 December 2010 | Port Canaveral, Fl

Daily Work Log | Geisha Sailing Adventures

14 December 2010 | Port Canaveral, Fl
Richard / Sunny and cold
This morning it was 28°F in Port Canaveral and the only consolation is that it was warmer than my other 3 places I call home, SC, NY and Indie. Actually today was much better than yesterday because the wind had calmed down a lot. So I got motivated and decided to tackle the shower. I had already bought all the parts but I was holding off trying to figure out exactly how I was going to implement it. No matter what I had to go through a couple of bulkheads. I began by cutting the holes for the faucet handles, which meant a trip to ACE hardware for the right hole cutting saws. I then realized that I had the wrong size fittings for the water supply so I had to make another trip over to Home Depot. My boat water supply uses all 1/2 OD PEX hoses and I had bought 3/8s. I know that now. For anyone else that has this type hoses, they have invented a great quick disconnect which makes making connections really easy. Anyway after I got the right size fittings everything seemed to come together pretty good and the result is pleasing. I now have a hot and cold running shower. I now have to replace the sump pump as I don't want water running into the bilge. Attached is a photo of the results.
Comments
Vessel Name: Geisha
Vessel Make/Model: Islander Freeport 38
Hailing Port: Port Canaveral, Fl
Crew: Richard & China
About: Richard has retired and is working on the boat, currently in Port Canaveral, Fl. China is still working in NYC. We are playing it by ear for the time being. Maybe a trip to the keys is in our future early next year.,

Who: Richard & China
Port: Port Canaveral, Fl