Golightly

13 June 2022 | Ste. Anne. Martinique.
10 August 2021 | Le marin
03 August 2021 | Le Marin. Martinique.
21 July 2021
15 July 2021
29 November 2019 | Carriacou
14 October 2019 | Carriacou
31 March 2019 | Martinique
15 November 2018 | Carriacou
09 June 2018 | Marigot, St. Lucia.
01 March 2018 | Martinique.
04 December 2017
21 September 2017 | Tyrell Bay. Mangroves.
18 June 2017 | Bequia
06 January 2017 | Le Marin.
19 November 2016
26 October 2016
22 June 2016
25 February 2016

Nassau

28 April 2013
Then it was off, across the Tongue of the Ocean, to Nassau, the capital of the Bahamas. I decided to anchor in West Bay, off Lyford Cay. Unfortunately, my laptop died on me there. So it was a few trips, via hitch hiking, taxi, bus etc into Nassau to find a new one. We stayed there for a week or so. Nice anchorage and met some great cruisers there. Greg and Christina on Whisper were there and we sailed with them repeatedly after that, bumping into them in various anchorages along the way. I found the Bahamas quite expensive for provisioning, except for the rum! The locally produced rum, which was very good, we found for around $8 a bottle. Needless to say, I stocked up. There is a very strange house that looks a bit like a theme park built on the north corner of the bay. I believe it is owned by Peter Nygard, an eccentric clothes designer, and on the weekends, at night, he blasts music out over the water to annoy his neighbors. I hear that there I a dispute going on between then over him reclaiming too much land? All a bit odd.
After a good time here, we left for Highbourne Cay, in the northern part of the Exumas, across to banks, motor sailing once again. Sailing across the banks is a sight to behold. Cruising along in Bombay Sapphire Gin colored water, so clear that you can see the ripples in the sand on the bottom, reminds me of the adverts I used to see in magazines of a couple on a beach, with their sailboat "parked" against the edge. Cigarette ads, I think they were. I always troll a line behind the boat. Wherever I'm going. On the banks it was mainly barracuda and the occasional yellowtail snapper. The large barracuda are not good to eat as they are known to contain a lot of ciguatera poisoning here. The yellowtail? Always good!

Learning as I go.
I've found that my house batteries are not charging up as high as they should. I'll have them checked out down the track. I might need to install a wind generator too, for the overcast days.
Comments
Vessel Name: Golightly
Vessel Make/Model: Island Packet 350
Hailing Port: London

Les on Golightly.

Port: London