Golightly

13 June 2022 | Ste. Anne. Martinique.
10 August 2021 | Le marin
03 August 2021 | Le Marin. Martinique.
21 July 2021
15 July 2021
29 November 2019 | Carriacou
14 October 2019 | Carriacou
31 March 2019 | Martinique
15 November 2018 | Carriacou
09 June 2018 | Marigot, St. Lucia.
01 March 2018 | Martinique.
04 December 2017
21 September 2017 | Tyrell Bay. Mangroves.
18 June 2017 | Bequia
06 January 2017 | Le Marin.
19 November 2016
26 October 2016
22 June 2016
25 February 2016

Ponce to St. Thomas

12 May 2013 | St. Thomas USVI
Warm
I was invited aboard Dulcinea, by Jim and Sherry, for cheese and wine. We had some very good French wines paired with a great Blue and Brie.
And after that the rum came out. Needless to say, we dived into it like camels at the oasis. A great evening by all accounts. The next morning I paid for it dearly. But then I've been known to roll with the punches.
Today I've serviced the engine. Just done 600 hrs and is going very well. Oil changed, filter changed, Diesel filter changed, Racor filter changed, and transmission checked. All good. And it started first crank. As it should.
Then took the dinghy out of the water and scrubbed the bottom. After that, scrubbed the cockpit down, followed by the galley floor, sole whatever! The bit I stand on.
I think I deserve a beer!

The tranquility of single handing the boat is a joy to behold. The sense of achievement and the self reliance is a huge reward. The pleasure of harnessing the wind, and it driving you, and your home, is quite a thrill.
Although, in saying this, it's great to have company.
Cruising along on a beam reach at 6.6 kts, I think back to the days of the old sailing ships. And I'm seeing the exact same coastline as they did. This is the coast and islands that the Spanish, Dutch, French and the British fought over.

On the passage from Ponce to Vieques, I lost 3 mahi mahi. One was behind the transom and the hook pierced my dinghy, which I was towing. So the repair was done, on deck. This morning, my handline, 130 lb breaking strain, was smashed by a marlin of about 400 lb! No marlin steaks tonight. It did one jump and was gone. I think it might have been laughing at me?
I was in a quiet anchorage and had a bbq.
Then it was off to the island of Culebra. Motored up into the bay, close to town and dropped the anchor. Went ashore for a beer and a bit of company.
While heaving the anchor, I noticed that the windlass, (winch for the anchor), seemed to be taking strain and moaning.
Sailed out of Ensenada Honda, around the island to Bahia Tamarindo. A pretty little bay, with free mooring balls. I position my self well and head up slowly to the buoy. Stop the boat then dash up to the bow, picking the boat hook up on the way. I get up to the bow and...no boat hook. This is the second one that's gone, dammit! By this time, the bow is drifting off, so I come around again, and on my hands and knees, through the lifelines, nail it with my gaff. Pity I wasn't this good with the mahi!
The following morning, I drop the mooring and head off around the north side of the island towards St. Thomas, USVI. Had a good sail for a while until the wind backed to the east and then the last leg was straight into it. I caught a small Cerra mackerel, which I ate that night. Very good indeed.
Comments
Vessel Name: Golightly
Vessel Make/Model: Island Packet 350
Hailing Port: London

Les on Golightly.

Port: London