Golightly

13 June 2022 | Ste. Anne. Martinique.
10 August 2021 | Le marin
03 August 2021 | Le Marin. Martinique.
21 July 2021
15 July 2021
29 November 2019 | Carriacou
14 October 2019 | Carriacou
31 March 2019 | Martinique
15 November 2018 | Carriacou
09 June 2018 | Marigot, St. Lucia.
01 March 2018 | Martinique.
04 December 2017
21 September 2017 | Tyrell Bay. Mangroves.
18 June 2017 | Bequia
06 January 2017 | Le Marin.
19 November 2016
26 October 2016
22 June 2016
25 February 2016

The Road to Bequia.

25 June 2013 | Princess Margaret Bay.
It's Friday 21 June and we have a weather window of a couple of days, to head down to Bequia, in St. Vincent and the Grenadines
I've been in Bassa Terre, St. Kitts for a little over 3 weeks, and enjoyed it here, waiting with Judy and Sherman Sunden, on Fair Winds, while they have had a new engine installed. While here, I've been fortunate to meet some interesting folks. Most moving south, like I am, for the hurricane season.
Richard and Lavinia on a trawler, Partners,come to mind. He is an ex Master Mariner and commanded VLCC's for P&O Shipping.
We had a great dinner aboard Fair Winds and it was a very entertaining evening. One of many aboard Fair Winds. Thank you. Needless to say, we had drinks and/or dinner together nearly every night.
Then there was Yvonne and Paul, and they had recently bought a grand old lady in Tortola, BVI's. A 61' Ketch, from the early 60's.
They are planning on having it shipped back to Sydney, Australia. And it was being captained by a South African.

Fair Winds and Golightly, my boat, if you weren't pay attention earlier, sailed out of Port Zante Marina at 1300.
At about 3 miles out, I caught a small Mahi Mahi.I filleted it, and into the fridge it went. Fresh fish for arrival!
The plan was to sail the 290 miles together. It's a 2 day, 2 night affair, which can be a bit taxing on the old body. More about that in a seperate blog.
Fair Winds is a performance cruiser, and quite a bit faster than my boat.
As I'm writing this, sailing past the island of St. Lucia, I can see Fair Winds about 2 miles off my starboard bow.
I think Sherman and Judy have had to rein her in quite a bit so that I could keep pace with them.
Yesterday, Saturday, I had a huge pod of a very small specie of dolphin around the boat. A few stayed with me for some minutes, and then they were gone.
The sailing, this passage, has been lively, to say the least. During the night, I took a wave over the cockpit. I got quite a fright, but should have been expecting it to happen. We had winds of up to 38 knots last night, and the seas to match. I had the second reef in the mainsail and a small jib out. Both mornings I found dead flying fish in the cockpit.

I'm now sailing down the west coast of St. Vincent at about 7 kts. It looks very lush with small towns dotting the coast line. I'll have to come back to visit next season.
We've now arrived safely and are anchored in Princess Margaret Bay, Bequia. It's a pretty anchorage with beach bars along the beach.
This will suit me just fine!
Comments
Vessel Name: Golightly
Vessel Make/Model: Island Packet 350
Hailing Port: London

Les on Golightly.

Port: London