Golightly

13 June 2022 | Ste. Anne. Martinique.
10 August 2021 | Le marin
03 August 2021 | Le Marin. Martinique.
21 July 2021
15 July 2021
29 November 2019 | Carriacou
14 October 2019 | Carriacou
31 March 2019 | Martinique
15 November 2018 | Carriacou
09 June 2018 | Marigot, St. Lucia.
01 March 2018 | Martinique.
04 December 2017
21 September 2017 | Tyrell Bay. Mangroves.
18 June 2017 | Bequia
06 January 2017 | Le Marin.
19 November 2016
26 October 2016
22 June 2016
25 February 2016

Antigua

30 December 2014 | Jolly Harbor
After waiting for a few days, anchored in Rodney Bay, my buddy boat, Desperado caught up to me. From there, we sailed across the Saint Lucia channel to Fort De France, Martinique. Once again, I had a great sail across. Full jib and, as always, a single reef in the main sail. I find that the full main overpowers the headsails. So it's best for balancing the boat this way.
We anchored below the fort and then the shopping started. Back and forth we went, bring back French wine, cheese, pates etc. All the good stuff. We stayed for about 3 days and sailed up to Sainte Pierre, up on the north west corner. One night there and then we sailed north, across the Dominica channel, and took a mooring off Sea World, Roseau. It's too deep here to anchor.
We went ashore, for a couple of drinks at Sea World, catching up with old friends, and new. We met a lovely lady there, out from England, on holiday, and convinced her to come sailing with me. The day before we sailed Kathryn came out to the boat and 4 of us had dinner aboard Golightly. The next morning she came aboard and we motor sailed up to Portsmouth, stopping in Mero, for lunch. After anchoring, we did a bit of snorkeling around a reef close by. Then a bbq aboard Desperado, which was great! The next morning Kathryn left, going on a boat tour up the Indian River, before heading inland to see the sights. We upped anchor and had a great sail, past Les Saintes, up the leeward side of Guadeloupe, to Deshaies. Mooring balls have been installed in the bay, which is great, as there are strange currents and winds in that little bay. On anchor, boats quite often came very close together. I believe the moorings are sponsored by the government. No charge, yet.
This morning we're sailing off to Falmouth harbor, Antigua. Having a great sail, 17-20 kts of wind, in 3-4 ft seas, with the jib and main out. Tooling along at about 6 knots. Monserrat is off my port side and Antigua is but a smudge on the horizon. Blue water ahead. Loving it!
I'm anchored in Falmouth harbor, amongst some of the most spectacular mega yachts I have ever seen! Huge things. Some with helicopters on the aft decks. There are super modern ones, beautiful "old style" steam boat ones, as well a huge sail boats. These are the type of boats that appear on the covers of glossy magazines around the world.
We caught up with old friends on Partners, Aeeshah and a few others and had a wonderful Christmas Day. First taking a walk over to Nelson's Dockyard, where there was a band, champagne and much festivities. Then back to the boats for a power nap, followed by a great dinner ashore in one of the local restaurants.
A couple of days later, we motor sailed around to Jolly Harbor and will spend New Year's Eve here, with friends arriving from South Africa to join me, for a week or so.

This will be my last entry for the year. It's been a great year for me out here in the Caribbean.
I've had my son, Matt, sailing with me for the first few months of the year. Then a friend of his, Jeremie, joined us for a month, and now I've had Kathryn aboard. I really have enjoyed the company.
Sadly a few of my very good friends have passed on this year too. If any of you reading this out there are contemplating doing something like this, do it now! Please don't leave it too late.
And if you feel like joining me for a while, send me a message and I'll try and make it happen.
May you all have a wonderful new year and be safe out there.
Comments
Vessel Name: Golightly
Vessel Make/Model: Island Packet 350
Hailing Port: London

Les on Golightly.

Port: London