S/V Grizabella

Brain droppings of the boatstruck

Don't Call me Ishmael

Who: Anyone I can convince to come along with me
Port: Mathews, VA
01 March 2011
01 March 2011
01 March 2011
01 March 2011
01 March 2011
01 March 2011 | Henrico County, VA
26 January 2011 | Deltaville, VA
26 January 2011 | Richmond, VA
09 January 2011 | Deltaville, VA
14 December 2010
28 November 2010 | Mouth of the Piankatank River
21 October 2010
21 October 2010 | Mouth of the Piankatank River
12 October 2010 | Antipoison Creek/Little Bay, VA
16 September 2010 | Kinsale, VA to Mathews, VA
19 August 2010 | Western Henrico, Virginia

Not enough sailing; not enough wind; 2010's last sail

28 November 2010 | Mouth of the Piankatank River
Sunny day, 45 degrees
Every weekend for the past several, I've wanted to get back out in the boat and do some sailing, but every time, something else has come up. A shame, because the winds have been great the past month. November probably is the best sailing month on the Chesapeake. Bummer.

So I decided that I would make it out there this weekend, knowing that this would be the last sail of the year.

I had planned on heading out on Saturday. I couldn't scare up a sailing companion, so I decided to just give it a go single-handed. My wife didn't like that idea so much and said she could go with me if I we sent on Sunday instead. O.K. then! We headed out today (Sunday).

Well, it was a beautiful day (if a bit brisk), but I could have used a bit more wind. If the National Weather Service is to be believed (and the jury seems still to out on that), Saturday was a pretty breezy day out there. Today, Sunday - not quite so much. There was enough wind to move the boat around a bit, but not the kind of "energetic" sailing I would have preferred. Still and all, a very nice day to be out on the water in any case.

It was a little cool out there -

Photobucket

But a nice day overall. Here is Gwynne Island over the starboard rail:

Gwynne Island

A little aft of the starboard beam is lovely view of Hills Bay:

Hills Bay

And dead astern is infamous Stove Point Neck:

Stove Point Neck

Dead ahead is the mouth of the Piankatank River and beyond that, the Chesapeake Bay:

Photobucket

The captain:

Photobucket

The wind, current and short daylilght hours conspired against us and prevented us from getting farther than the mouth of the Piankatank before turning around and heading back to the dock. Once there, I took the sails off the boat and winterized the fresh water system. Next week I'll head back out there to replace the head gasket on the engine (which has a slight leak), change the oil and winterize the engine.

Looking forward to spring...
Comments
Vessel Name: Grizabella
Vessel Make/Model: Pearson Wanderer 30
Hailing Port: Mathews, VA
Crew: Anyone I can convince to come along with me
About: Family, friends, acquaintances. No sailing experience necessary! (It hasn't stopped me).
Extra: I am a hard-core do-it-yourselfer. Woodworking, metalworking, carpentry, sheetrock, trim and finish work, plumbing, wiring, roofing. I've got more tools than brains. And unlike my brains sometimes, I actually know how to use the tools!

Don't Call me Ishmael

Who: Anyone I can convince to come along with me
Port: Mathews, VA