Guapa: Beauty and the Sea

One family and their boat. A daydream, a vision and now, slowly, becoming reality.

14 December 2016
25 May 2016 | Sainte Marine
23 May 2016 | L'Aber Wrach
21 May 2016 | Port Pendennis
19 April 2016 | Boxmoor
05 April 2016 | Northwood
28 January 2016 | Hemel Hempstead
17 December 2015 | Boxmoor
01 September 2015 | East Coast
30 July 2015 | Northwood
26 July 2015 | Northwood
01 June 2015 | Ostend/North Sea
27 May 2015
31 March 2015 | Leverstock Green
23 February 2015 | Leverstock Green
13 January 2015 | Leverstock Green
24 November 2014
14 October 2014 | Leverstock Green
19 September 2014 | Leverstock Green
15 September 2014 | Levington, River Orwell

Never get out of the boat

14 February 2012 | Northwood
The sea, ships & boats – all have featured large in my life. First in the navy, when I went to sea for months on end, then as a hobby (for want of a better world) when I got posted ashore. My family and my boat are all what matters to me. They are my life, and they have sheltered me from the real world most of my adults life. A real world in which I sometimes find ill at ease and for which at other times I find myself ill prepared.

The children have remarked upon this. Dad leaves the house for three reasons, and three reasons only:
1. To walk the dog
2. To go to work
3. To go to the boat.

I quite like my job right now. Hours of boredom and moments of frantic activity (bit like sailing). I know my job, and I like to think I’m good at it. Because I work shifts, I have ample time off. Time to walk, read (a lot) and write (a little). It’s what I do, it’s all I need.

Sailing is like slipping on a favourite, old and comfy sweater. It comes naturally and it makes me feel at ease. The world makes sense when I’m sailing. ‘Fuck it’ seems an appropriate answer to any shore based problems I may have.
A quote from one of my favourite movies (Apocalypse Now) seems fitting: ‘Never get out of the boat’.

Children are growing up fast and retirement is approaching. The boat we plan to take around the world is as good as finished. Now what? Living aboard full time seems daunting. How will we cope with not seeing the children (and eventually the grandchildren) on a regular basis? How will my body cope with abuse the sea throws at it?
I have long resisted the idea of buying a house. It seems so ‘permanent’. Especially since at the age of 46, I haven’t even figured out what I want to be when I grow up.

The two most stressful periods in anyone’s life are divorce and buying a house. And divorce is not on the cards – I hope.
For the past 4 months other people have effectively put our lives on hold. We’ve be kept waiting whilst they made us jump through numerous administrative hoops. Whilst they considered whether we were worthy or not. I like to be in control of my life; of what I do and where and when I do it. Lately this has not been the case, and I have HATED every single minute of it.
I have landed Brigitte with more than a fair share of the hoop jumping. I know it’s not fair, but she has the better people skills. I’m very grateful though, and I hope I can make it up to her.

We’re in the final furlong now, about to commit ourselves to a couple more years of financial servitude, but it’s all starting to come together. The finish line is in sight.
A boat and a house to call home: It will have taken a lifetime of sweat and toil, but how many out there can actually say that they will have made their dream come true?

I probably shouldn’t be writing this. I’m rambling, I’m too exhausted, too cold, too ....

Comments
Vessel Name: Guapa
Vessel Make/Model: Kalik 44
Hailing Port: Ipswich, UK
Crew: Wim, Brigitte, Evita & Yanni
About: The Vandenbossche family
Extra: One family and their boat. It started as daydream, then a vision and now, slowly, becoming reality.
Guapa's Photos - Beauty and the Sea (Main)
1 Photo
1
Bringing Guapa home - Bruinisse lock
 
1
35 Photos
Created 18 July 2014
17 Photos
Created 20 February 2014
12 Photos
Created 22 May 2013
13 Photos
Created 22 May 2013
Ostend, UK East & South Coast and Normandy
30 Photos
Created 10 August 2012
Winter sailing - UK East Coast
18 Photos
Created 9 February 2012
34 Photos
Created 17 April 2011
10 Photos
Created 17 April 2011
It's all been worth it.
4 Photos
Created 26 July 2010
The horror... The saga continues. Hull respray, new engine, and loads more (expensive) fun.
20 Photos
Created 21 June 2010
Replacing a teak deck and other horror stories
25 Photos
Created 31 December 2008
The Solent, Channel Island(s) and Normandy.
21 Photos
Created 8 June 2008
Messing about in the Suffolk/Essex area
17 Photos
Created 21 December 2007
UK South Coast, Normandy, Northern France & Belgium
40 Photos
Created 23 September 2007
A thing of beauty
7 Photos
Created 3 June 2007
Meet the crew
12 Photos
Created 27 March 2007
Messing about in the Suffolk/Essex area
8 Photos
Created 27 March 2007
Running from the storm(s) - North Sea Triangle: Ramsgate - Ostend - Harwich.
6 Photos
Created 17 February 2007
Web Site Hit Counters
Visitors since Jan 1st 2009