Cruising Finally

27 August 2014 | Daytona Beach
01 April 2013 | Beaufort, SC
23 March 2013 | Daytona
20 March 2013 | Daytona Beach
18 March 2013 | Flagler Beach, Fl
16 March 2013
12 March 2013 | St Marys, Ga
10 March 2013 | Jekyll island
09 March 2013
07 March 2013
06 February 2013 | James Island
12 October 2012
26 August 2012

Savannah South (AKA trip from hell)

08 March 2013 | Ga
Left anchorage at 0830. Let Vern sleep in since he rescued me at 0500. Drug my anchor and was very close to marsh so I get bright idea to pull anchor and motor back out into river. Not so bright. As soon as I pulled anchor and got my fat ass back into the cockpit to put motor in gear, I was all the way in marsh. Call Vern and he came out in his mega dingy and pulled me back to center of river. Took him 10 minutes. (My hero). Now for the trip from Hell. We left with the tide making 6.6 mph for about 3 miles then we were against the tide for the rest of the day. Next 3 hours was at about 3 mph. Vern had one engine shut off just to stay in sight of me. Crossed the Savannah river at a breath taking speed of 1.5 mph. As the tide subsided speed went to 4.5 mph so new prop has got to come off. 23 miles into trip and approaching a bridge my engines ran hot and went into "Guardian Mode" which means ideal. Anchor out and sort of resolve problem. Got a bridge opening and as soon as I got under the bridge same thing happened. Anchor out again (I am getting faster at it) called butler marine in beaufort and decided I had an obstruction in flow tube or bad temperature sensor. I chose the easy and unplugged the sensor. Ran fine but did not want to push it so again against the tide I was running 3 mph and for 3 hrs only 2mph. Finally made Hells Gate (real name and a fitting end to the day) anchored at 1800, change prop and will hope for a better day tomorrow. No Jimmy Buffet tonight.
Comments
Vessel Name: Carolina Lady
Vessel Make/Model: Gulfstar 36 Trawler
Hailing Port: Charleston, SC (Port Orange, FL)

Port: Charleston, SC (Port Orange, FL)