Breathing fire back into a Dragon

16 December 2010
28 October 2010
27 October 2010
18 October 2010 | Bella Vista, AR to Neptune Beach, FL

Dragon Bones

28 October 2010
Greg
In order to determine where to start, we needed to get to the bare bones. Every night I have been working a little on removing benches, berths and bulkheads. I finally completed the task and now can begin a serious inspection of the Dragon's bones.

I will definitely be repairing one stringer and both bulkheads are too far gone to be salvaged. I managed to get one out intact in order to use it as a template for the new ones. I will spend the next week checking stringers, floors and interior joints for cracks, rot and blisters in the gelcoat.

P.S. Found two pennies sitting on a stringer after I removed the benches. Both were heads up. I have stored them in a secure spot so that they can be returned to their original location. I'm not superstitious, but I am a little-stitious
Comments
Vessel Name: Happy Dragon
Vessel Make/Model: Columbia 23-T
Length Overall 22' 7
Hailing Port: Neptune Beach, FL
Crew:
Capt:Greg
Admr:Julie
First Mates:
Anna
Davis
Addison
Extra: 1973 Columbia 23-T Hull 101 (first of model from Portsmouth mfg site) Spent most of its life in Nebraska and Arkansas.

Happy Dragon

Who:
Capt:Greg
Admr:Julie
First Mates:
Anna
Davis
Addison
Port: Neptune Beach, FL