Havili

Exploring the world’s oceans, coastal communities, & islands

09 September 2019 | Nomuka Iki, Ha'apai Group
06 September 2019 | Ha'ano, Ha'apai Group
31 August 2019 | Port Maurelle, Vava'u Group
28 August 2019 | Nuku, Vava'u Group
24 August 2019 | Vava'u North Shore
12 April 2019 | Baie des Vierges, Fatu Hiva
08 April 2019 | Land Ho!!!
07 April 2019 | 143nm to Hiva 'Oa
31 March 2019 | 808nm to Hiva 'Oa at 246* Magnetic
27 March 2019 | The Doldrums
23 March 2019 | Pacific Ocean
21 March 2019 | Pacific Ocean
17 March 2019 | Sailing Across the Pacific Ocean!
17 March 2019 | Clipperton
14 March 2019 | 20nm NNE of Clipperton Island
12 March 2019 | 160nm NNE of Clipperton Island
12 March 2019 | Enroute to Clipperton Island

Tiburon

21 February 2019 | Isla San Benedicto
Tucker
Hello Friends,

We are still on the southern end of Isla San Benedicto and tomorrow will mark a week since we dropped anchor in this indigo blue water. It has been a great location but I think we are all itching to start exploring the neighboring island of Socorro as well. The plan is to up anchor tomorrow morning, do a quick circumnavigation of this relatively small island and then head south for Socorro.

This island has been the wildest place I have ever experienced. I know I mentioned in my last post how amazed we were with the marine life, but in the days since I have been even more impressed. The isolation of these islands makes them a truly remarkable location and I understand why they are usually listed on the top 10 places to dive in the world. Ill admit though that I may have let my fear of sharks start to over power me a little bit, or specifically fear of certain sharks. Ive started to feel at ease with the Whitetip Reef Sharks and Silky sharks, but when Catherine and I saw a 12 foot TIger Shark the other day I was not enjoying myself. It wasnt too interested in us but seeing a predator that large shook me a little bit. However on the same dive we got to see a Giant Manta a few feet away from us and that has been on my to do list ever since I got SCUBA certified in Waterville, Maine at the age of 18. I guess it pays off to be scared sometimes.

Can't wait to see what Socorro is like!

-Tucker
Comments
Vessel Name: Havili
Vessel Make/Model: Transpac 49
Hailing Port: Los Angeles
Crew: Sam
About: https://www.havili.org/
Home Page: https://www.havili.org/
Havili's Photos - Main
No items in this gallery.